Skip to main content
site header image

Business Resources: Websites for Business Intelligence

Business/ Competitive Intelligence Websites

AFL-CIO Executive PayWatch - Search by Company Name, Ticker Symbol, Industry, Total Compensation - http://www.aflcio.org/corporatewatch/paywatch/

Business Wire - free access for current 30 days - "Business Wire is the leading source for press releases, photos, multimedia and regulatory filings from companies and groups throughout the world." http://www.businesswire.com/portal/site/home/

CNN Money Company Research Lookup - background information, vital statistics and earnings estimate information. http://money.cnn.com/news/companies/

CORI Contracts Database - "The CORI K-Base library contains over 690,000 contracts. Most of the contracts in the collection are executed agreements made available in public disclosure filings or in filings with a regulatory agency. Currently, the collection is primarily drawn from filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission's (SEC's) EDGAR Database. First-time users must complete a free registration." http://ronald.cori.missouri.edu/cori_search/

EDGAR Full-Text Search - "This page allows you to search the full text of EDGAR filings from the last four years. The full text of a filing includes all data in the filing as well as all attachments to the filing." http://searchwww.sec.gov/EDGARFSClient/jsp/EDGAR_MainAccess.jsp

EIU.com - from the Economist intelligence unit - subscription or pay as you go options available, "analysis and forecasts on more than 203 countries and eight key industries." http://viewswire.eu.com

Europages - has 1.500.000 European and international suppliers, manufacturers and distributors listed in its B2B directory. http://www.europages.co.uk/

"The European Patent Register - "The European Patent Register contains all the publicly available information on European patent applications as they pass through the grant procedure, including oppositions, patent attorney/EPO correspondence and more. This service also provides for public file inspection - click on the "all documents" tab - and legal status information for the national phase." https://register.epo.org/espacenet/regviewer

Fortune 500 Daily and Breaking Business News - http://money.cnn.com/magazines/fortune/. See also the Fortune 500 for 2012 annual ranking of America's largest corporations.

Forbes Lists (companies, sectors, markets, people, products --- biggest, best, richest, etc.) - http://www.forbes.com/lists/

Global Business Register - "GBRDirect provides a single access point to official information on companies around Europe. The information is sourced directly from the official national business registers of each European country and is delivered in real-time to your desktop." http://www.globalbusinessregister.co.uk

Google Finance - updated market summary, recent quotes, today's news, sector summary, today's movers - http://www.google.com/finance

MarketWatch.com - The Wall Street Journal - stock market quotes, business news, financial news - http://www.marketwatch.com/?siteid=&avatar=seen&dist=ctmw

MSN Money Central - stock company reports - http://money.msn.com/stocks/

Moodys.com - subscription req'd, credit ratings, research and risk analysis - http://www.moodys.com/

MyWay.com Business News - http://news.myway.com/index/id/business|ap.html

Reuters Financials - headlines, company information, analyst research, industry watch, stocks. Some data requires registration - http://www.reuters.com/sectors/financials

SEC Info - registration req'd - data from the SEC EDGAR database. Search by Name, Industry, Business, SIC Code, Area Code, Topic, CIK, Accession Number, File Number, Date, ZIP. http://www.secinfo.com/

Time Business - news and views on the economy, markets and business- http://business.time.com/

solusource: "Find industrial product AND company information from around the world in one place." Search fields: Global Products; Suppliers By Category; Company Name; Keyword. solusource

ThomasNet: Choose suppliers from 67,000 categories and 30,000 suppliers semantic search technology can transform your search for parts, components, materials, and more." http://www.thomasnet.com/

West Thomson Monitor Suite is a set of services that drive your firm's strategic business decisions. Litigation, IP, and Deal Monitor provide unique analysis of the marketplace that will inform your business development process http://www.monitorsuite.com/signon/information.aspx - subscription req'd

2016 Best-Performing Cities - 200 Largest Metros: "The 2011 Milken Institute Best-Performing Cities Index ranks U.S. metropolitan areas by how well they are creating and sustaining jobs and economic growth. The components include job, wage and salary, and technology growth. In most years, these give a good indication of the underlying structural performance of regional economics. The full report can be downloaded here."

United States Patent Office - Patent Full-Text and Full-Page Data Images, http://www.patft.uspto.gov/

Who Owns What in Media - Columbia Journalism Review - http://www.cjr.org/resources/

Yahoo Economic Calendar/Financial Calendars - http://biz.yahoo.com/c/e.html

Yahoo Financial News - Aggregates news by specific providers/fee and free, including: AP, Bankrate.com, bizjournals.com, BusinessWeek, Daily FX, Forbes, Fortune, FT.com, Investor's Business Daily, Kiplinger.com, MarketWatch, Morningstar.com, Motley Fool, Reuters, SmartMoney.com, TheStreet.com, The Wall Street Journal. These links are located on the navigation bar, left side of page. http://us.biz.yahoo.com/top.html

Selected Financial Blogs

The 25 Best Financial Blogs - Time.com, chosen by Stephen Gandel.

Blog Catalog - Finance Blogs - includes links and thumbnails to corporate and individual blogs from around the world. http://www.blogcatalog.com/directory/finance

DealBook, from the New York Times - Mergers & Acquisitions, Venture Capital, Private Equity, Hedge Funds, IPO Offerings, Venture Capital, Legal/Regulatory http://dealbook.nytimes.com/

Deal Journal - from the Wall Street Journal (free): "Deal Journal is an up-to-the-minute take on the deals and deal makers that shape the landscape of Wall Street, including mergers and acquisitions, capital-raising, private equity and bankruptcy. In short, wherever money changes hands. Deal Journal is updated throughout each trading day with exclusive commentary, analysis, data, news flashes and profiles." http://blogs.wsj.com/deals/?mod=djm_shdealblog

Financial Times Tech Hub tech analysis and reviews (free) - http://blogs.ft.com/fttechhub/#axzz1iFxlNZJn/. See also this list of other free financial blogs via FT.com.

footnoted* - "Each day, the site takes a closer look at the things that companies try to bury in their routine SEC filings." http://footnoted.com/

Real Time Economics - Economic insight and analysis from The Wall Street Journal (free). http://blogs.wsj.com/economics/

Seeking Alpha - "We handpick articles from the world's top market blogs, money managers, financial experts and investment newsletters - publishing approximately 250 articles daily. Seeking Alpha gives a voice to over 4,000 contributors, providing access to the nation's most savvy and inquisitive investors. Our site is the only free, online source for over 1,500 public companies' quarterly earnings call transcripts, including the S&P 500." http://seekingalpha.com/

Wall Street Journal Market Beat (free) - WSJ.com’s inside look at the markets. http://blogs.wsj.com/marketbeat