Citations: Discipline-Specific Style Guides

This book helps students, writers and speakers at all levels refine their communication skills by guiding them at every stage of the process. Focuses on principles of good writing and writing in APA style Offers tips on internet publishing, poster presentations, and making presentations to Institutional Review Boards (IRBs) Highlights methods for selecting a research topic, organizing papers and communicating statistics in an accessible way

For more than fifty years, authors, editors, and publishers in the scientific community have turned to Scientific Style and Format for authoritative recommendations on all matters of writing style and citation. Developed by the Council of Science Editors (CSE), the leading professional association in science publishing, this indispensable guide encompasses all areas of the sciences. Now in its eighth edition, it has been fully revised to reflect today’s best practices in scientific publishing. nbsp; Scientific Style and Format citation style has been comprehensively reorganized, and its style recommendations have been updated to align with the advice of authoritative international bodies. Also new to the eighth edition are guidelines and examples for citing online images and information graphics, podcasts and webcasts, online videos, blogs, social networking sites, and e-books. Style instructions for physics, chemistry, genetics, biological sciences, and astronomy have been adjusted to reflect developments in each field. The coverage of numbers, units, mathematical expressions, and statistics has been revised and now includes more information on managing tables, figures, and indexes. Additionally, a full discussion of plagiarism and other aspects of academic integrity is incorporated, along with a complete treatment of developments in copyright law, including Creative Commons. nbsp; For the first time in its history, Scientific Style and Format will be available simultaneously in print and online at www.scientificstyleandformat.org.nbsp;Online subscribers will receive access to full-text searches of the new edition and other online tools, as well as the popular Chicago Manual of Style Online Forum, a community discussion board for editors and authors. Whether online or in print, the eighth edition of Scientific Style and Format remains the essential resource for those writing, editing, and publishing in the scientific community.

This text is designed to help music students become familiar with and use the many research tools available to them. The content is arranged by type of research tool (e.g., encyclopedias, periodical indexes, discographies) and includes a general statement about the uses of each tool and anannotated bibliography that points out their purpose, scope, strengths, and weaknesses. Covering both print and electronic resources, the text does not attempt to be exhaustive but rather guides students to the major research tools in music. A companion Web site maintained by the author helps keepthe material up to date.Intended primarily for music bibliography classes taken by almost all students entering graduate music programs, the text is also a useful supplement for any undergraduate or graduate class in music that requires students to do library research or write a research paper.

Deborah Core offers practical guidance for beginning seminary students who feel overwhelmed and under-prepared to write the number and quality of papers their courses require. The book begins with reflections on writing as a sacred action, then addresses such practical matters as choosing and researching a topic; outlining, drafting, and polishing a paper; and using the proper format for footnotes and bibliography. Also included are sample papers in MLA and Chicago styles and an overview of grammar and usage.

This expanded tenth edition of the bestselling guide to style is based on the Economist's own updated house style manual, and is an invaluable companion for everyone who wants to communicate with the clarity, style and precision for which the Economist is renowned. As the introduction says, 'clarity of writing usually follows clarity of thought.' The Economist Style Guide gives general advice on writing, points out common errors and clichés, offers guidance on consistent use of punctuation, abbreviations and capital letters, and contains an exhaustive range of reference material - covering everything from accountancy ratios and stock market indices to laws of nature and science. Some of the numerous useful rules and common mistakes pointed out in the guide include: *Which informs, that defines. This is the house that Jack built. But: This house, which Jack built, is now falling down. *Discreet means circumspect or prudent; discrete means separate or distinct. Remember that "Questions are never indiscreet. Answers sometimes are" (Oscar Wilde). *Flaunt means display, flout means disdain. If you flout this distinction you will flaunt your ignorance *Forgo means do without; forego means go before. *Fortuitous means accidental, not fortunate or well-timed. *Times: Take care. Three times more than X is four times as much as X. *Full stops: Use plenty. They keep sentences short. This helps the reader.

Just because you're not a born writer doesn't mean you should settle for less than perfect business documents. After all, every piece you write reflects directly on the quality of the product or service your business offers. Now, this helpful guide takes the guesswork out of more than 50 commonly used business documents, including: Reports * Proposals * Business plans * Presentations * Press releases * Memos * Email * Newsletters * Collection Letters * Sales materials * And more Arranged alphabetically and cross-referenced for easier use, the book presents clear examples of how to (and how not to) create winning materials every time. The authors' step-by-step instructions begin with an overview of the writing process, from preparation and research right through to final review and publication. Sample documents show you how your pieces should look and read, and close to 300 individual entries cover key points of grammar, style and spelling, and present strategies for writing more clearly, avoiding bias, eliminating clichés, and much more.

This detailed, example-driven guide illustrates how much you can do to make written texts more suitable for a global audience. Accompanied by an abundance of clearly explained examples, the Global English guidelines show you how to write documentation that is optimized for non-native speakers of English, translators, and even machine-translation software, as well as for native speakers of English. You'll find dozens of guidelines that you won't find in any other source, along with thorough explanations of why each guideline is useful. The author also includes revision strategies, as well as caveats that will help you avoid applying guidelines incorrectly.
Focusing primarily on sentence-level stylistic issues, problematic grammatical constructions, and terminology issues, this book addresses the following topics: ways to simplify your writing style and make it consistent; ambiguities that most writers and editors are not aware of, and how to eliminate those ambiguities; how to make your sentence structure more explicit so that your sentences are easier for native and non-native speakers to read and understand; punctuation and capitalization guidelines that improve readability and make translation more efficient; and howlanguage technologies such as controlled-authoring software can facilitate the adoption of Global English as a corporate standard.

This text is intended for anyone who uses written English to communicate technical information to a global audience. Technical writers, technical editors, science writers, and training instructors are just a few of the professions for which this book is essential reading. Even if producing technical information is not your primary job function, the Global English guidelines can help you communicate more effectively with colleagues around the world.

This easy-to-use handbook is an essential resource for anyone who needs to write English correspondence for an international business audience. In an engaging, accessible style it integrates the theory and controversies of intercultural communication with the practical skills of writing and editing English for those who read it as a second language. The book emphasizes principles of simplicity and clarity, proper etiquette, cultural sensitivity, appropriate layout and typography, and more to increase the chances that a text prepared by a native English speaker will be better understood by a non-native speaker. It also updates traditional advice with new insights into "e-mail culture." Equally useful for students and professionals in business communication, marketing communication, and international business, The Elements of International English Style is filled with realistic examples, problems, and projects, including: 57 specific tactics to internationalize one's English; hundreds of before-and-after comparisons showing the effects of editing for an international audience; models of international correspondence; practical discussion questions and work projects; useful resources for further study, including books, articles, and websites.

Sit down at the keyboard and cinch that deal! Press the send button and get the account! Writing skills are more important than ever in determining business success. They can make the difference between climbing the corporate ladder and getting stuck on a low rung. An e-mail that's clear, concise, and targeted will get more than just a response - it will get results...including your boss's attention! No matter what the business or sector, top communication skills are in major demand. Why? Because businesses are bogged down with e-mails that are too long, wordy, and unclear. Instead of wasting time rewriting, clarifying, and still miscommunicating, write it once, write it right, and get the job done the first time. The Executive Guide to E-mail Correspondence will show you how to rapidly transform basic writing skills into global communications expertise. Geared to the computer-toting professional with little patience for instructions and explanations, The Executive Guide to E-mail Correspondence fills the gap between academic training and real-world writing by providing you with a range of E-mail templates that you can instantly adapt to your business needs. Written in a fresh and lively, here's-how style, The Executive Guide to E-mail Correspondence:- Demonstrates the hallmarks of effective business E-mails. Features ready-to-use organizational plans. Presents quick and easy editing techniques. Furnishes before-and-after editing models. Focuses on the do's and don'ts of proficient E-mails. Supplies practical writing tips and tricks. The Executive Guide to E-mail Correspondence is a must-have book for anyone who wants to fast-forward his or her career in any business or industry.

Helps undergraduate psychology students to write practical reports of experimental and other quantitative studies in psychology. This book is designed to help with various stages of the report writing process including what to put in each section and recommendations for formatting and style.