Crime Statistics: U.S. Official Crime Statistics

Crime Trends
This is an online data tool from the Bureau of Justice Statistics.  Create tables for at the national, state, or local level using UCR offense variables.

National Incident-Based Reporting System Resource Guide
This is a guide from the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data.  Explains the relationship between UCR and NIBRS.  Links to online data anlysis options for a selection of NIBRS segments.

Uniform Crime Reporting Program Resource Guide
This is a guide from the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data.  It provides a description of the study methodology and links to available data sets for download and manipulation in statistical software programs.  Online data analysis for UCR county-level data is available.

Uniform Crime Reports
The Uniform Crime Reports (UCR) provide official crime counts for the United States since 1930.  It is a program of the Federal Bureau of Investigation.  The UCR Program is a voluntary city, university and college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement program that provides a nationwide view of crime based on the submission of statistics by law enforcement agencies throughout the country.  Data is collected on known offenses and persons arrested.

• UCR Frequently Asked Questions
  Answers frequently asked questions about the Uniform Crime Reporting System, providing definitions, history, and explanations.
• UCR Handbook
  "The UCR Handbook outlines the classification and scoring guidelines that law enforcement agencies use to report crimes to the UCR Program. In addition, it contains offense and arrest reporting forms and an explanation of how to complete them. The Handbook also provides definitions of all UCR offenses." 
  Print access available in the Government Documents Library (Main Library, 3 West) at call number J 1.14/16:C 86/2004.
• National Incident-Based Reporting System
  An enhancement program to the Uniform Crime Reports.  "The NIBRS is an incident-based reporting system in which agencies collect data on each single crime occurrence.  NIBRS data are received from participating local, state, and federal law enforcement agencies having automated records systems."  Read the NIBRS FAQs.

Crime in the United States
"Crime in the United States (CIUS) is an annual publication in which the FBI compiles volume and rate of crime offenses for the nation, the states, and individual agencies. This report also includes arrest, clearance, and law enforcement employee data."  
Online access available from 1995-present.
Print access available in the Government Documents Library (Main Library, 3 West) from 1930-present at call number J 1.14/7:.

Hate Crime Statistics
"Each year's edition of Hate Crime Statistics presents data regarding incidents, offenses, victims, and offenders in reported crimes that were motivated in whole or in part by a bias against the victim's perceived race, religion, ethnicity, sexual orientation, or disability."

Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted
The FBI annually compiles data concerning the felonious and accidental line-of-duty deaths and assaults of law enforcement officers and presents these statistics in Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted (LEOKA). Tabular presentations include weapons used, use of body armor, and circumstances surrounding murders and assaults of officers.
Online access available from 1996-present.

Homicide Trends in the United States
This site contains a series of charts that describe homicide patterns and trends in the United States since 1976.  Topics covered include long-term trends, demographic trends, multiple victims and offenders, infanticide, homicides by intimates, law enforcement officers killed, weapons trends, regional trends, and trends by city size. The data analyzed are from the FBI's Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program, particularly the Supplementary Homicide Reports.

Homicide Trends in the United States, 1980-2008 and annual rates for 2009 and 2010. November 2011.

Homicide Trends and Characteristics for States and Large Cities
This is an online data tool from the Bureau of Justice Statistics.  Create tables for states and local reporting agencies for total number of homicides and characterisitics of those homicides.

Easy Access to the FBI's Supplementary Homicide Reports, 1980-2006
Provides access to more than twenty years of national and State data on homicide victims and known homicide offenders, including information on the age, sex, and race of victims and offenders, the victim-offender relationship, and the type of weapon used.  An online analysis tool from the Office of Juvenile Justice and Deliquency Prevention.

Learn More About the Supplementary Homicide Reports
Overview of the study design from the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data.

Morgan Quitno Awards - America's Safest (and Most Dangerous) Cities
Online press release from the publishers of the city and state crime ranking books.  Lists top cities in both categories.

The Florida Statistical Analysis Center of the Florida Department of Law Enforcement analyzes criminal justice data and prepares statistical reports for policy makers, planners, and program developers; and serves as a criminal justice resource for academicians, media, students, and others researching crime in Florida. FSAC reports cover a wide range of criminal justice issues and are available to the general public.

• Data
  

•  Florida's Crime Rate at a Glance

  Florida' Annual Crime Clock- an ata glacne look at the frequency of Index Crime reported: 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006