Skip to main content
site header image

Crime Statistics: Prosecution & the Courts

Prosecution

Prosecution Statistics
The Bureau of Justice Statistics presents summary findings, publications, and related links.

National Survey of Prosecuters
The National Survey of Prosecuters is a Bureau of Justice Statistics data collection program. Tables from the 2001 survey are available online.  Data set files are available from ICPSR.

The Courts

Civil Justice Statistics
Summary findings and related publications from the Bureau of Justice Statistics.

Courts and Sentencing Statistics
This webpage from the Bureua of Justice Statistics provides summary findings, selected statistics, and a list of data collections (many available in the National Archive for Criminal Justice Data).

National Center for State Courts - Court Statistics Project
The Court Statistics Project collects and analyzes data relating to the work of our nation's state courts.  Examining the Work of State Courts provides comprehensive analysis of the business of state trial and appellate courts.  State Court Caseload Statistics provide detailed information about the state course systems and caseloads.  Guides are available to provide definitions.  An interactive statistics query is also available. State Court Statistics series data sets are available from ICPSR.

State Court Organization, 1987-2004
Presents trend data from State Court Organization data collections covering the years 1987-2004. The report examines changes in the organization and operations of the Nation’s state trial and appellate courts over this time period. Topics include the selection and educational requirements of judges, regulations of criminal and civil juries, the development of unified court systems, and adjustments in court management and staffing to address growing caseloads.

U.S. Courts/The Federal Judiciary Statistical Reports
Listing of statistical reports available from the federal judiciary system.  Selected titles include:

Annual Report: Judicial Business of the United States Courts
The most comprehensive set of detailed statistical tables published on the work of the federal Judiciary, plus charts and text explaining why increases or decreases occurred in the courts’ caseload.

Federal Court Management Statistics
Provides statistical profiles for each of the 12 U.S. courts of appeals and 94 U.S. district courts–plus national totals for the appellate and district courts–for the fiscal year ending September 30.

Federal Judicial Caseload Statistics
Statistical tables on the caseload of the federal Judiciary for the 12-month period ending March 31 address the work of the U.S. courts of appeals, district courts and bankruptcy courts, as well as the federal probation and pretrial services system.

Statistical Tables for the Federal Judiciary
Detailed statistical tables address the work of the U.S. courts of appeals, district courts and bankruptcy courts, as well as the federal probation and pretrial services system.

 

Juvenile Justice

Easy Access to Juvenile Court Statistics: 1985-2005
This online tool facilitates independent analysis of national estimates of the more than 30 million delinquency cases processed by the nation's juvenile courts between 1985 and 2005. With this application, users can perform unique analyses on the age, sex, and race of juveniles involved in these cases as well as the referral offense, the use of detention, adjudication and case disposition.

Juvenile Court Statistics Databook
This online tool provides convenient access to national estimates of the more than 30 million delinquency cases processed by the nation's juvenile courts between 1985 and 2005. With this application, users can view pre-formatted tables describing the demographic characteristics of youth involved in the juvenile justice system and how juvenile courts process these cases.

National Juvenile Court Data Archive  
The National Juvenile Court Data Archive houses the automated records of cases handled by courts with juvenile jurisdiction.  The Archive was established by the Office of Juvenile Justice and Deliquency Prevention, within the U.S. Department of Justice, to promote access to automated juvenile court data sets for juvenile justice research and policymaking efforts.  This web site was developed to inform researchers about the available data sets and the procedures for use and access.

Office of Juvenile Justice and Deliquency Prevention - Statistical Briefing Book
The OJJDP Statistical Briefing Book (SBB) enables users to access online information via OJJDP's Web site to learn more about juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile justice system.  Pertinent sections include Juvenile Justice System Structure & Process and Juveniles in Court.

Federal Justice System

Compendium of Federal Justice Statistics
Describes all aspects of processing in the Federal justice system, including numbers of persons prosecuted, convicted, incarcerated, sentenced to probation, released pretrial, and under parole or other supervision.  Online access is available from 1993-current.  Print access is available for previous editions in the Government Documents Library (Main Library, 3 West) at call number J 29.20:.

Federal Justice Statistics
This webpage from the Bureau of Justice Statistics provides a statistical overview and lists relevant publications.

Federal Justice Statistics Program Resource Guide
This is a guide from the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data.  It provides an overview of federal statistical program agencies and their data collection efforts with access to data set files.

Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center
The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS), through its Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center (FJSRC), compiles comprehensive information describing suspects and defendants processed in the Federal criminal justice system. The goal of FJSRC is to provide uniform case processing statistics across all stages of the Federal criminal justice system.  This website creates custom tables and provides links to publications.

Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing Statistics
This annual statistical report is published by the U.S. Sentencing Commission and provides descriptive figures, tables, and charts, and selected district, circuit, and national sentencing data.

Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC)
TRAC is a a data gathering, data research and data distribution organization at Syracuse University.  The public web site, TRACReports, provides information on selected federal enforcement agencies, special topical reports, and "bulletins" about federal enforcement, staffing and expenditures.  Look here for data on U.S. federal criminal prosecutions and data from individual federal agencies such as the Federal Bureau of Investigation, Drug Enforcement Agency, Internatl Revenue Service, and the Department of Homeland Security.

U.S. Courts/The Federal Judiciary Statistical Reports
Listing of statistical reports available from the federal judiciary system.