Skip to main content
site header image

Crime Statistics: International

World Prison Population List

Links to all editions of the World Population Prison List report, currently published by the   International Centre for Prison Studies.  This report provides information on the global prison population and the rate per 100,000 of the national population (the prison population rate) in 218 countries and territories.

International Crime Statistics

United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime
UNODC provides trend and policy analyses and publicizes and disseminates data and information on the global drug and crime scene.  This includes the World Drug Report (also available in print), crop monitoringcrime statistics (notably the periodic Survey on Crime Trends and Operations of Criminal Justice Systems), data for Africa, and more.

World Factbook of Criminal Justice Systems
Provides basic information about crime and criminal justice in various countries, including statistics. Courtesy of the U.S. Department of Justice.

Crime and Society: A Comparative Criminology Tour of the World
Provides user-friendly access to crime and justice information via a world map upon which you click your continent or country of interest.

International Center for Prison Studies
The International Center for Prison Studies is housed at Kings College, London.  The World Prison Brief provides basic statistical information by world region and country.  Many publications contain statistical information such as the World Pre-Trial/Remand Imprisonment List and the World Prison Population List.

Regional Crime Statistics

Centro de Estudos de Seguranca e Cidadania
Center for Studies on Public Security and Citizenship
The Center for Studies on Public Security and Citizenship, at University Candido Mendes in Brazil, is dedicated to applied research, consultancy work, courses and events in the area of public security, justice and citizenship.  The English language list of publications and projects include reports with statistical information, mainly regarding criminal justice issues in Brazil (however many of the reports are in Portuguese).  Lists of links to other relevant resources are provided (in Portuguese).

European Institute for Crime Prevention and Control (HEUNI)
The HEUNI organization is affiliated with the United Nations as part of the United Nations Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice Programme.  The Projects section includes information about statistical survey programs.  Under Publications there is a list of National Criminal Justice Profiles for European countries which include some statistical information.

European Sourcebook of Crime and Criminal Justice Statistics
Includes statistics on police, prosecution, convictions, and corrections for over 30 countries.  Full text pdf versions and original data are available online.  The print version is available in the Main Library.  See also the list of links to other statistical sites around the world.

Home Office Research Development Statistics
This site from the United Kingdom provides a description of the statistical collections available as well as links to publications with data in certain areas.

Justice in Mexico Project
A research project of the University of San Diego Trans-Border Institute.  Provides access to descriptive statistics and maps on crime indicators and victimization in Mexico and Mexican states.