Skip to main content
site header image

Crime Statistics: Victims & Crimes

About this page

Surveys of victims and information about types of victim populations and crimes.

  1. National Crime Victimization Survey
  2. Children & Youth
  3. Elderly
  4. Gender, Sexual Violence & Intimate Partners

National Crime Victimization Survey

National Crime Victimization Survey
The National Crime Victimization Survey is the Nation's primary source of information on criminal victimization. Each year, data are obtained from a nationally representative sample of 76,000 households comprising nearly 135,300 persons on the frequency, characteristics and consequences of criminal victimization in the United States.  It is a program of the Bureua of Justice Statisticsand began in 1973.

Selected resources and publications from the Bureau of Justice Statistics. 

Criminal Victimization
This annual bulletin presents estimates of rates and levels of personal and property victimization.

Criminal Victimization in the United States - Statistical Tables
Presents 110 tables with detailed data on major variables measured by the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS).

Crime and Victims Statistics
Summary findings and additional resources.

Victim Characteristics
Summary findings and links to bulletins and crime data briefs discussing specific categories of victims (i.e. students, intimate partners, juveniles, age, race, etc.)  and types of crimes (i.e. identity theft, gang violence, sexual assualt, etc.)

Crime and the Nation's Households
Presents information on households or persons in households who experienced one or more violent or property victimizations. Measuring crime by counting the affected households gives an understanding of whether crime is concentrated in fewer households or spread among more households in the Nation. Estimates are from data collected in the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS).

National Crime Victimization Survey Resource Guide
This guide is from the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data.  It gives an overview of the survey and methodology and discusses access to data files and options for online analysis.

Children & Youth

Child Maltreatment

Crimes Against Children Research Center
Reports on the Developmental Victimization Survey conducted by researchers at this center.

Child Maltreatment
This page from the Center for Disease Control's Violence Prevention program includes fact sheets and links to data sources.

National Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect
Provides information about data sets from researchers in the child maltreatment field.

National Child Abuse & Neglect Data Systems
A data collection program of the Administration for Children & Families.

Child Maltreatment: reports from the states to the National Child Abuse & Neglect Data System

 

Juvenile Deliquency & Youth Violence

Juvenile Victimization & Offending, 1993-2003
Report from the Bureau of Justice Statistics.
"Presents findings about violent crime committed against or by juveniles from 1993 to 2003. Comparisons are made in the report between younger teens (ages 12-14), older teens (ages 15-17), and adults. Data are drawn from the National Crime Victimization Survey for nonfatal violent victimization and offending {rape/sexual assault, robbery, aggravated and simple assault} among those 12 years and older, and from the FBI’s Supplemental Homicide Reports for fatal victimization and offending of the entire population. Analyses include characteristics of victim, offender, and of the criminal event such as weapons, location, and time of day."

Monitoring the Future: National Results on Adolescent Drug Use
The Monitoring the Future study ongoing longitudinal survey of American Youth ask questions about behaviors, attitudes and values.  This annual publication reports the findings on adolescent drug use.  Data sets are archived with ICPSR.

National Center for Juvenile Justice
The National Center for Juvenile Justice is a private non-profit research organization devoted to understanding, prevention and control of child and family justice.  Publicationsprovided on the website include statistical factsheets and reports, such as the annual Juvenile Arrests bulletin.

National Youth Survey
A longitudinal study conducted by the Institute of Behavioral Science at the University of Colorado.  In this study youth self-report deliquent behaviors.  Data sets are archived withICPSR.

National Youth Violence Prevention Resource Center
The National Youth Violence Prevention Resource Center has compiled a list of links to relevant statistical sources.

Office of Juvenile Justice & Deliquency Prevention Statistical Briefing Book
The OJJDP Statistical Briefing Book (SBB) enables users to access online information via OJJDP's Web site to learn more about juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile justice system.

Youth Violence Data. View national and state trends and patterns. Visit http://www.cdc.gov/ViolencePrevention/youthviolence/stats_at-a_glance/index.html for more information.

 

Youth Violence
This page from the Center for Disease Control's Violence Prevention program includes fact sheets and links to data sources.

 

School Violence

Crime and Safety Surveys
This website compiles Data and reports produced by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) on the topic of school crime and safety.  This includes the School Survey on Crime and Safety and the School Crime Supplement to the National Crime Victimization Survey.

Indicators of School Crime and Safety
This is an annual report produced by the National Center for Education Statistics and the Bureau of Justice Statistics that presents the most recent data available on school crime and safety.  Online access is also available directly from the NCES website.  Print access is available in the Government Documents Library (Main Library, 3 West) at call number ED 1.347:.

School Violence
This page from the Center for Disease Control's Violence Prevention program includes fact sheets and links to data sources.

 

Elderly

Crimes Against Persons Age 65 or Older
A report from the Bureau of Justice Statistics comparing crimes against persons age 65 or older with those in younger age groups using data from the National Crime Victimization Survey and the Uniform Crime Reports.

Elder Maltreatment
This page from the Center for Disease Control's Violence Prevention program includes fact sheets and links to data sources.

National Center on Elder Abuse
A program of the U.S. Administration on Aging.  Look on the navigation menu under library for statistica resources.  Includes a report from the National Incident Study.

National Committee for the Prevention of Elder Abuse
While no data is readily available on this website, lists of publications with relevant studies are cited.

Gender, Sexual Preference & Intimate Partners

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Includes a number of reports on these issues, a selection of which are presented below.  Please review the publications page for a full listing.

Intimate Partner Violence in the United States
This webpage examines fatal and non-fatal violence by intimates (current or former spouses, girlfriends, or boyfriends) since the redesign of the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS) in 1993. Data from 1993 to 2005 are examined in addition to aggregated data from 2001 to 2005.

Stalking Victimization in the United States
Presents findings on nonfatal stalking victimization in the U.S., based on the largest data collection of such behavior to date. Data were collected in a supplement to the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS) and sponsored by the Office on Violence Against Women (OVW).

Domestic Violence and Sexual Assualt Data Resource Center
The Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Data Resource Center provides information on how data are collected and used in the states. Funded by the Bureau of Justice Statistics, this Center seeks to identify the types of information currently being captured by state and local agencies.

Intimate Partner Violence
This page from the Center for Disease Control's Violence Prevention program includes fact sheets and links to data sources.

Measuring Intimate Partner (Domestic) Violence
An overview of national surveys from the National Institute of Justice.

National Online Resource Center on Violence Against Women
A project of the National Resource Center on Domestic Violence, this website features research reports on sexual and domestic violence as well as links to relevant data setsfor the study of violence against women.

Prevelance of Domestic Violence, Sexual Assualt, Dating Violence, and Stalking
This report from the U.S. Government Accountability Office provides an overview of relevant national data collection programs.

Selected Research Results on Violence Against Women
Citations and statistics presented by the National Institute of Justice.

Sexual Violence
This page from the Center for Disease Control's Violence Prevention program includes fact sheets and links to data sources.

Violence Against Women Resouce Guide
This is a guide from the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data.  It provides an overview of relevant data sets in the archive, including those available for online analysis.  Links to other topical websites are also included.