Skip to main content
site header image

Library Databases: Databases

Library Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X-Z


A

A to Z / FULL Text Finder (list of Journals)
 A comprehensive list of the library’s electronic journals. Searchable by title and pre-defined general subject areas. Includes links to full-text issues.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.

American History in Video
Over 1,000 hours of American history video which includes commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. 

Ancestry Library Edition  (On-Campus Use Only)

Ancestry Library Edition is a genealogy research tool with more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases,  including records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more. 

Association for Computer Machinery Digital Library (free portions)
Access to free portions of the ACM Digital Library Guide to Computing Literature including ACM TechNews, ACM CareerNews, and more.

Audio Drama
The L.A. Theatre Works Collection delivers, for the first time online, more than three hundred important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation’s premiere radio theatre company. The plays - which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries - are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening. (A gift from the Mellon Foundation)

Top

B

Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture is a landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts.

Black Studies Center (Chadwyck-Healey)
Cross-searchable databases including the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the Chicago Defender, Black Literature Index, and more.  Includes the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) with current and retrospective bibliographies, citations, and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers, and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean.  
 

Britannica Online

Britannica Online  includes Encyclopedia Britannica, Britannica Concise, videos, images, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, journals and magazines, quotations, year in review, world atlas, world data, and selcted classics.

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete offers a range of business journals containing timely economic news and company profiles.

Top

C

 

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Indexes nursing, allied
health, biomedical, and consumer health journals.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Indexes articles from communications publications, mass media, and other
closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource
encompassing the range of the communication discipline.

Choice Reviews Online
Provides reviews of academic books, electronic media and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education.

Credo Reference
Ready reference electronic books covering every major subject.  This online reference collection features full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. This resource also includes Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.

Top

D

Dissertations & Theses
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

Top

E

eBooks Collection
Access to the library’s vast collection of eBooks (digital versions of print books).  Includes a special electronic reference collection.

EBSCO Host Research Databases
Includes: Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, CINAHL Full-Text Plus, Communication and Mass Media Complete, GREEN File, Hospitality and Tourism Complete, Literary Reference Center, Points of View, Regional Business News, and SocINDEX with Full Text.

Education Research Complete

Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)

ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.

 

Top

F

Florida Electronic Library
This portal offers access to electronic magazines, newspapers, almanacs, encyclopedias, and books. Topics include current events, education, business, technology, and health issues. Homework help for students and resources for teachers are also provided.

Top

G

 

Gale/Artemis Literature 

Artemis Literary Sources integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Full-text Reference E-books on a variety of subjects. Subjects covered include arts and humanities, biography and genealogy, business and industries, general and consumer interests, government and political science, health and medicine, law, science and technology, and social sciences.

Green File

Green File contains journal articles from a variety of scholarly environmental and ecology journals.

Top

H

Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2008)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism..
There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals,
company & country reports, and books.

Top

I

IEEE Xplore Digital Library (IEL)
Access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1872. Also includes complimentary access to the AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005
from VDE VERLAG conference proceeedings. Included with many of these papers are links to multimedia which includes PPT or audio/video files.  Content includes peer reviewed papers on anything that technology touches such as Electrical Engineering, Computer Science, Business, Criminology, Art, and Nursing.

International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
This database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes over 770,000 records, the majority from the most recent ten years of publication.

IOP Science

IOP Science is an online service for journal content that embraces innovative technologies to make it easier for researchers to discover, access and manage scientific, technical and medical content.

J

Journal of Black Psychology  

SAGE Premier provides online access to the Journal of Black Psychology .   The Journal of Black Psychology (JBP) presents the most innovative peer-reviewed, empirical, theoretical, and methodological research on the behavior and experiences of Black and other populations from Black or Afrocentric perspectives.

 

JSTOR
Full text and images of back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, anthropology, sociology, education, literature, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences from the 1800s to 3-5 years ago. Collections subscribed to include: Arts & Sciences I; Health & General Sciences; and Journal of Military History.

 

Top

K

Top

L

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)(A&I)

Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.

Literary Reference Center 
Literary Reference Center (LRC Plus) is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.

Top

M

Top

N

Naxos(On-Campus Use Only)
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 67,470 CDs with more than 969,300 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month.

Top

O

Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.

Top

P

Points of View Reference Center

Providing a balance of materials from all viewpoints, Points of View Reference Center includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.

ProQuest Newsstand

ProQuest International Newsstand provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers.  For nearly all of them, complete articles are available in the ASCII format.

ProQuest History Vault: Black Freedom III & Digital Archive

Valuable primary source documents of African American history from the eighteenth to twentieth century.

PsycTESTS
International in scope, this resource provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research.

PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

 

Q


Top

R

RCL: Resources for College Libraries 

Find recommended titles by searching this continuously updated core list of more than 75,000 academic titles. These titles are selected by subject specialists and bibliographers and include print, electronic media and Internet resources.

Regional Business News

Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Research Gate
ResearchGate is the world's largest professional network for scientists and researchers.  Researchers can search through 7 of the largest databases simultaneously, such as PubMED, IEEE & CiteSeer; by using the literature search.

Top

S

Salem Press

Salem Press offers  Literature, History, Science and Health research sources.

The Literature database contains literary critiques and McGill's Literary Annuals. History sources are: Encyclopedia of Immigration, Great Lives from History, the Historical Encyclopedia of American Business, & Milestone Document of African American History. Salem Science offers earth science, and the Encyclopedia of Mathematics & Society and Environmental Issues. Health contains research sources for Psychology & Mental Health.

 

SocINDEX
SocINDEX™ is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.

SpringerLINK EBooks/ Journals
Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.

T

Top

V

ValueLine

Value Line is an authoritative source in reliable, unbiased market information. Value Line offers  accurate and insightful investment research on companies, industries, markets and economies. By providing the latest data, sophisticated tools and proven ranks to expert analysis and guidance, Value Line is a quaility source for evaluating investments

 

W

Westlaw (News, Business and Law)
Westlaw is one of the primary online legal research services for lawyers and legal professionals in the United States and is a part of West. In addition, it provides proprietary database services. Information resources on Westlaw include more than 40,000 databases of case law, state and federal statutes, administrative codes, newspaper and magazine articles, public records, law journals, law reviews, treatises, legal forms and other information resources. 

Worldcat

Discover dozens of genres representing hundreds of titles, authors, subjects, characters, locations and more ranked by popularity in the world's libraries.