- Air Transport Association
Facts, figures, news and articles on all things related to the air transport industry. Includes data on the airline industry, regulations, individual airports and air carriers. Some content is for members only.
- American Society of Travel Agents
Includes news, travel agent locator, legislative information, career information and job listings, and events. Some content for members only.
- Cruise Lines International Association
A great web site for all topics relating to the cruise industry. Free content includes regulatory information, profile of cruise line companies, industry news and statistics, and some industry market reports. Other content for members only.
- Fodor’s Travel Service
Web site for the popular travel book series, this site offers free information on hotels, restaurants, destinations, and cruises. Also includes Fodor’s Travel Wire, with lists such as “Airports We Love and Hate”, and “Must-Do Adventures for 2007”.
- Destination Marketing Association International
An online resource center for convention and visitors bureaus, and destination professionals worldwide. Some content is for members only, but free information includes reports on destination topics, event calendars, newsletters, and job and internship listings.
- ITA Office of Travel and Tourism Industries
Website of the U.S. Department of Commerce International Trade Administration, Office of Travel and Tourism Industries. Includes free data on U.S. and international tourism and travel, including news, statistics, and links to other great information sources. Users can also subscribe to a free news/update service called TINews.
- National Household Travel Survey
An excellent compendium of data collected by the U.S. Department of Transportation. All data is free, and includes information on commuting, business and leisure travel, demographic information on travelers, and much more. Also includes reports on topics such as comparing travel pre-and post September 11, and preferred mode of transportation for travel.
- Smith Travel Research
None of the market reports here are free, but there is a free lodging industry glossary, as well as links to industry news.
- Travel Industry Association of America
A professional organization for travel industry workers, this site includes fast facts, podcasts, news, a job bank, directories, and other useful information. Some content is for paid members only.
- World Tourism Organization
The World Tourism Organization (UNWTO/OMT), a specialized agency of the United Nations, is the leading international organization in the field of tourism. Most of the information on the site deals with tourism policy issues including sustainable development and ethics. There aren’t many free reports and publications, but this is a useful site for researching the travel and tourism industry.
- World Travel & Tourism Council
This site deals with international travel and tourism. Information is provided for professionals, researchers and consumers. The site provides access to travel and tourism market research reports and lots of specific reports for various countries.