LibGuides: eBooks: Ebook collections

eBook Collections in the B-CU Library

Below are links to the B-CU Library's eBook collections:

eBooks with Unlimited Simultaneous Access

Many of the ebooks collections feature unlimited simultaneous access. However, the number of simultaneous users allowed for titles in ebooks (EBSCO) and Proquest Ebook Central collections can vary by title. More information provided under each collection's description.

Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture is a landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history . A few of the more than 1000 sources include Mary McLeod Bethune: Building A Better World: Essays and Selected Documents and Booker T. Washington's Up from Slavery: An Autobiography
Credo Reference
More than 650 e-reference titles.
eBooks (EBSCO) collection
Number of simultaneous/concurrent users vary by title. More than 50,000 titles. Many ebooks in this collection only allow 1-3 simultaneous/concurrent users. Some will allow an unlimited number of simultaneous users. Click the title of the eBook to display information about the eBook. Near the bottom of the entry is information on "concurrent users".
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) (Recently renamed "Gale ebooks")
Over 3300 e-reference titles. (Most Gale eBooks are available in Book View and Text View. Book View mimics the print layout of the book, and includes options to flip pages,) Gale does not transfer entire books to your device but a user can download multiple individual chapters.

Use the "Get Link" tool to get a durable link for an entire ebook. To get a durable link to an individual chapter, first use the "Get link" at the top of the chapter page, then you must add the following to the beginning of the url:
http://cookman.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

ProQuest ebook Central
Number of simultaneous/concurrent users may vary by title. B-CU owns 189 titles and subjects include a public health and public administration collection. Click on the title to display information on availability/number of simultaneous users-this information is at the top of the title's information page.
R2 Digital Library
A quality selection of constantly updated, Health Sciences focused, cross-referenced eContent. Featuring thousands of resources from the leading health sciences publishers—and increasing daily.
Salem Press
Salem Press offers Literature, History, Science and Health research sources.

Springer Journals and Ebooks (SpingerLink)
B-CU has access to more than 36,000 full-text ebooks (and some journals) in this database.

(For purposes of selecting Springer ebooks and journal articles for class assignments you will want to limit your results to only eBooks and journals available to B-CU users. To do this, once the search results display, de-select the checkbox "Include PREVIEW ONLY CONTENT". This box is highlighted in yellow and is located at the top left of the search results -See image below.)

eBooks with Limited Number of Simultaneous Users (Budget permitting, the Library may be able to purchase an additional license to add more simultaneous users to an individual ebook.)

eBooks (EBSCO) collection
Number of simultaneous/concurrent users vary by title. More than 50,000 titles. Many ebooks in this collection only allow 1-3 simultaneous/concurrent users. Some will allow an unlimited number of simultaneous users. Click the title of the eBook to display information about the eBook. Near the bottom of the entry is information on "concurrent users".

ProQuest ebook Central
Number of simultaneous/concurrent users may vary by title. B-CU owns 189 titles and subjects include a public health and public administration collection.feature a public health and public administration collection. Click on the title to display information on availability/number of simultaneous users-this information is at the top of the title's information page.

Related Guide

OER Libguide

Additional Resources to Consider

Directory of Open Access Books
B-CU Library Discovery Search Box
On the library's homepage, use the search box to enter your terms. Then filter results by ebook format. While the search will include ebook titles found in the B-CU collections listed in the left column, you may find additional results for ebooks found in smaller open access collections and those found in the library's databases that contain mainly journal articles.

Also, while reviewing the search results, look at the top left for the note "See additional databases. No results found." which is highlighted with a blue background. Click on the link to view databases that weren't in the search results -some of these may be ones you will want to search individually,

Faculty Notes

There are a few things you should keep in mind when using an eBook from the Library as a class reading:

Pay attention to the availability of the eBook. Some will have unlimited availability, while others will only allow for one or three users simultaneously/concurrently.
(Budget permitting, the Library may be able to purchase an additional license to add more simultaneous users to an individual ebook.)
You can link to any of the e-Books from the library databases, some can be linked at the chapter level.
All eBook collections listed in this section require a B-CU login, if accessed from off-campus.

Following are product information from several of the ebook publishers/platforms