LibGuides: Public Health: Home

B-CU Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete contains peer-reviewed sources and business related journals, and offers comprehensive full-text coverage plus indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.
CINAHL Complete
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Indexes nursing, allied health, biomedical and consumer health journals. Includes Evidence Based Care Sheets.
Demographics Now
DemographicsNow is an online subscription resource that provides users with access to robust and highly detailed U.S. demographic data, magnified by reporting capabilities that allow users to easily and rapidly compile information to make informed and accurate decisions.
Dissertations & Theses
Useful for all subject areas. A comprehensive database collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Education Research Complete
ERIC Education Research Center
Gale Power Search
Searches a number of Gale databases.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Health And Wellness
Health & Wellness Resource Center delivers up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources. All content from Gale and its imprints is reviewed by medical experts in the form of publication-specific advisory boards, primarily the Gale Health Content Advisory Board.
JSTOR
Provides full text selected scholarly journals in many humanities and social sciences fields. It also has some open-access ebooks.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX™ is a comprehensive sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provides users with a wealth of extremely useful information, encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.

Grey Literature - Resource Lists

Grey Literature -Reports & More (UIC)
Selected list of grey literature resources.
Grey Literature & Others (FSU)
The bottom of this page contains a tabbed box of selected grey literature resources.
Grey Literature - Health Services and Policy Research (UMich)
Provides a list of grey literature resources.
Grey Literature Report in Public Health
}The report is a bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine (NYAM) alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics. The database platform is keyword searchable and serves as an archive for the cataloged reports."
more...less...
Grey literature is "that which is produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats, but which is not controlled by commercial publishers."
Racial Equity and Health Policy (KFF)

Other helpful information

The following resources provide helpful, but general, information on various aspects of academic research. Since assignments can vary, always check with your professor for the specifics of each research assignment.

Video: Peer Review in 3 minutes
Literature Review
Link to B-CU Library Research Guide
Citations: APA Citations
Link to B-CU Library guide page on APA citations

Open Access Web Databases and Resources

ADOLEC (Literature on Adolescence Health)
Global Index Medicus
Worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The World Health Organization (WHO) collates and aggregates the material on a central search platform. The contents come from the Latin America and the Caribbean Literature on Health Sciences database (LILACS); and Index Medicus for Africa (AIM), the Eastern Mediterranean Region (IMEMR), the South-East Asia Region (IMSEAR) and the Western Pacific Region (WPRO). Coverage: 1982-present, bibliographic entries with some full-text.

Google Scholar
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.

Online Services

Ask a Librarian (Email Reference Service)

Have a question? We're here to help. Send us an email and one of our librarians will contact you shortly.

Email: askalibrarian@cookman.edu

Interlibrary Loan Service (ILL)

Need a book or journal article that we don't seem to have? Take advantage of our free interlibrary loan (ILL) service. We will locate a copy of the item for you. Many ILL items can be obtained within 2 weeks- sometimes within a few days, if its an electronic copy.

ILL Form: Online Interlibrary Loan Form
ILL Librarian: Dr. Angelo Salvo, 386-481-2189 (salvoa@cookman.edu)

Additional B-CU Guides to Consult

Health Equity Research Guide
Nursing Research Guide
Student Login Information
Provides information on off-campus login to library databases , on campus login to campus computers, and accessing WildCat Web.
Graduate Students - Library Services

Carl S. Swisher Library

Library Hours during Regular Academic Year

Mon.-Thurs.: 8 AM to Midnight

Friday: 8 AM to 5 PM

Saturday 9 AM to 5 PM

Sunday 3 PM to Midnight

Email: askalibrarian@cookman.edu

Phone 386-481-2186

For Holiday or Summer Hours please see the information on the Library home page.