Skip to main content
site header image

Library Introduction: Databases- Best Bets

Why Use Library Databases?

What is Peer-Review?

Citations

Most databases have a feature that allows you to copy the citation for the article. To find the CITE tool,  look around the outside edges of the record . (For example. the Academic Search Complete database  has its CITE  tool in the far right margin. Other databases may have it on the left).

Also, remember to select the correct citation style (such as MLA or APA)  if  your instructor specified which one you should use. And always double check the citation for accuracy -the Tutoring Center (2nd floor of the Library by Archives) can help.

 

Helpful information on citations is also on the Citations Library Research Guide.

3. Most popular databases

Journal, Newspaper and Magazine  Databases

Here are several databases that will be helpful to use for many of  your first-year assignments.

eBooks and Digital Reference Books

More Databases

EN 132 Assignments

  • Please refer to the EN 132 Research Guide  for eBook and other electronic resources for some of your literature assignments.

Library Help

Need research help or have a question?

  • If you are in the Library, come by the Circulation desk and a staff member will find a librarian to help you.
  •  or you can send us an email  at askalibrarian@cookman.edu.  One of our librarians will contact you as soon as possible.
  • Circulation Desk phone number is 386- 481-2186.

Interlibrary Loan Service (ILL)

Need a book or  journal article that we don't seem to have? Take advantage of our free interlibrary loan  (ILL) service. We will locate a copy of the item for you.  Many ILL items can be obtained within 2 weeks- some within a few days,  if its an electronic copy.

Research Guides

 

Questions? One way to contact the B-CU librarians is by email: askalibrarian@cookman.edu