Skip to main content
site header image
site header image

Collection Development and Purchase Suggestions: Home

Collection Development

The Library welcomes material recommendations by faculty, students, staff and other users.  Recommendations are vital in helping the library select the best possible materials to support the teaching and research activities of the university. All recommendations are considered and a final decision for each recommendation is made using the guidelines of the library’s collection development policy.

Use the purchase request form to make material recommendations and send the completed form as an email attachment to either the department’s liaison (see list below) or directly to the  Collection Development/Acquisitions librarian (moreyh@cookman.edu).

Helpful Selection Tools

The library subscribes to the following collection development tools:

  • RCLweb: Resources for College Libraries  Find recommended titles by searching this continuously updated core list of more than 75,000 academic titles. These titles are selected by subject specialists and bibliographers and include print, electronic media and Internet resources.

 

Library Liaisons

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT LIAISONS

The Library has designated a librarian to act as a liaison to serve as the principal contact for each academic school for information about library policies, procedures and services. The liaisons are also responsible for staying in communication with the department chairs and faculty about selecting books, journals and other materials for purchase to support the school's learning and research activities.

Questions or comments about the liaison program may be directed to Dr. Tasha Lucas Youmans, Dean of the Library/Chief Librarian.
She may be reached at  (386) 481-2181 or youmanst@cookman.edu

 
Schools and Colleges:

Business and Entrepreneurship

Dr. Clarissa West-White, Reference/Instructional Librarian​
386-481-2198,  Office: Library, 2nd floor, Room 9, whitec@cookman.edu

Education

Ms. Helen Morey,  Collection Development/Acquisitions Librarian
(386) 481-2417, office: 1st floor behind circulation desk. moreyh@cookman.edu

Graduate Studies

Dr. Tasha Lucas Youmans, Dean of the Library/Chief Librarian
(386) 481-2181, youmanst@cookman.edu

Health Sciences

Mrs. Geraldine Kohn, Cataloger
(386) 481-2187, office: 1st floor behind circulation desk, kohng@cookman.edu

Hospitality Management

Dr. Clarissa West-White, Reference/Instructional Librarian​
386-481-2198,  Office: Library, 2nd floor, Room 9, whitec@cookman.edu

Liberal Arts

Mrs. Laura Quatrella, Reference/Instructional Librarian
(386) 481-2118, Office: 1st floor, lauraq@cookman.edu

Nursing

Mrs. Geraldine Kohn, Cataloger
(386) 481-2187, office: 1st floor behind circulation desk, kohng@cookman.edu

Online and Professional Studies

Ms. Betty Story,   Reference Librarian​
(386) 481-2416, email: storyb@cookman.edu

Performing Arts and Communication

Mr. Ervin Ross, Director of Access Services
(386) 481-2099, office:1st floor, rosse@cookman.edu

Religion

Mr. Ervin Ross, Director of Access Services
(386) 481-2099, office:1st floor, rosse@cookman.edu

Science, Engineering and Mathematics

Mr. Angelo J. Salvo, Interlibrary Loan/ Technical Processing Librarian
(386) 481-2189, office:2nd floor,  salvoa@cookman.edu

 

 

 

Comprehensive Lists of Items

If you need a comprehensive list of titles for collection development activities, contact the Acquisitions librarian at moreyh@cookman.edu.

Please allow a minimum of 3-5 working days to fulfill a request.