Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Carl S. Swisher Library is very interested in acquiring copies of books written by and about Bethune-Cookman alumni. In this guide are lists of titles in the library's collections. If you published a book, please consider donating a copy to the library so that we can keep our collection of alumni titles up-to-date. For more information regarding selection criteria, please email the library at email@example.com.
Use the following catalog link Bethune-Cookman University - Alumni -Publications to retrieve a list of all the alumni titles.in the library's collections.
Also see the research guide Dissertations & Theses of B-CU students/faculty.
Scholarly and Technical Books - Selected titles written by Alumni
The African-American Male:an annotated bibliography by
Call Number: R 016.30538896 G6621a 1999
African-American Youth by
Call Number: B 305.235 A2582 1995
An in-depth analysis of the contexts of black youth socialization with emphasis on the intragroup variations in the circumstances, behavior, and experiences of those youth. Taylor and his contributors present a balanced portrait of the majority of black youth who stay in school, avoid drugs and pregnancy, are employed, and are not involved in crime despite social and economic disadvantages, alongside those unfortunates who are enmeshed in the crucible of social problems. Authored by some of the best African American researchers in the United States, this volume focuses on the multiple ecologies of black youth development from school through employment and marriage.
African American Sociology by
Call Number: B 305.896 A2582 1999
One of the editors, Dr. Alva Barnett, is an alumnus.
African Leadership in the Twentieth Century by
Call Number: B 320.9609045 G6621a 2002
Represents the most comprehensive analysis of African leadership to date. It offers both historical and contemporary insights on how African leadership successfully achieved independence, but failed to improve the quality of African life.
African Perspectives in American Higher Education by
Call Number: B 378.108996 A2582 2003
Dr. Gordon, one of the editors, is an alumnus.
The African Presence in Black America by
Call Number: B 305.8996 A2582 2004
Accepting the basic premise that Africa is the ancestral homeland of black Americans raises questions as to how much, if any, of African cultural heritage remains within that community. Some claim that the severity of the plantation system and the acculturation process of the slaves could not have left any Africanism in the New World, while others argue that African cultural heritage can still be seen today in many aspects of American life and thought. This volume revisits the debate, examining the ways in which this alleged cultural heritage manifests itself.
African Presidental Leaders: Selected Case Studies by
Call Number: B 354.603 G6621a 2018
This volume is a product of the African Presidential Papers and Libraries (APPL) project. The project was funded by the Open Society Initiative of West Africa (OSIWA) headquartered in Dakar, Senegal and was undertaken by co-authors of the volume. The primary objective of the project was to develop African presidential papers and libraries for the study of "African leadership and governance. The focus of this volume is to document the reflections of Africans on their leaders. Ten leaders were selected from 10 African countries."- publisher website
The American Black Male: his present status and his future by
Call Number: B 305.38896 A51213 1994
Dr. Gordon is an alumnus.
Call Number: SPEC 973.049 B563b 2009
"Like most relatives of legends, the grandchildren of Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune are often asked what it is like to be related to someone so well known. For Dr. Evelyn Bethune, the answer has never been an easy one. Her grandmother was far ahead of her time in her vision, focus, and ability to lead our people. Growing up in her shadow was sometimes the hardest aspect of my life and other times the most rewarding, says Dr. Evelyn Bethune... This is the true story of coming out of that darkness into the light of freedom. It is a story of how the strength of our ancestors is with us and guides us to the restoration of stolen legacies." - Amazon
Bethune-Cookman College and Beyond: a study of alumni who have received doctoral degrees by
Call Number: B 378.7308996 M6471b 1996
Several copies in Black Collection and also one copy in Archives.
Black Diamonds: Profiles of successful blacks in a small southern community by
Call Number: B 975.8843 M8259b 1990
Black Leadership for Social Change by
Call Number: B 303.34 G6621b 2000
"This book presents a comprehensive overview of Black leadership in every aspect of American life, including movements for social justice, education, business, and politics. In the quest for human rights and social advancement, African-American leaders have emerged to lead the fight to overcome racial and economic barriers. This struggle has influenced the exercise of Black leadership in many other areas and the author uses an interdisciplinary approach to reveal the changes, continuities, and variety of African-American approaches to effective leadership. The book also suggests a theoretical framework for future research on the impact of Black leadership in America."
The Black Male in America by
Call Number: B 301.45196 B6271 1977
Editor Ronald L Taylor is an alumnus.
The Black Presence in American Foreign Affairs by
Call Number: B 327.11 M648 1978
Inside the Nation of Islam by
Call Number: B 297.87 W5821i 2001
"This detailed study of the internal workings of the Nation of Islam under the leadership of Louis Farrakhan examines the evolution of the organization since 1977 and its strange ideological menu of Black Nationalism, political-economic development, anti-Semitism, and conservative Republican ideals. Vibert White maintains that Farrakhan's Nation has become a cult that utilizes black nationalistic and religious dogma and its ability to create political and racial controversy to exploit poor and working-class black Americans for the leaders' economic and political gain. At the heart of Inside the Nation is White's chronicle of his own sojourn during the 1980s and 1990s as a registered Muslim--from his days as a foot soldier in the Fruit of Islam, the Nation's military organization, through his rise to the status of minister and advisor to the leadership. ".
Minority Families in the United States by
Call Number: B 305.8 M666 1998
Written by scholars who share an identity with the minority families they write about, this collection of essays offers a detailed description and analysis of the historical and contemporary forces that have shaped the structure and the role of social class and gender dynamics of the four dominant minority groups—African-American, Hispanic, Asian, and Native American—and their sub-populations in the United States. The four dominant minority groups—African American, Hispanic, Asian, and Native American—and their sub-populations in the United States are focused on. The multiracial/multicultural diversity of family patterns and dynamics are considered. The similarities and differences between groups as well as the considerable diversity (in values, beliefs, and cultural practices) the groups represent are emphasized. Well-balanced treatment of the role of social class and gender as they bear on the behavior and attitudes of family members of minority groups is provided.
Narratives of African Americans in Kansas, 1870-1992 by
Call Number: B 978.10496 G6621n 1993
Nigeria-United States Relations by
Call Number: B 966.9054 U28n 2008
"This study centers on Nigeria-United States relations, focusing on both countries' perspectives on political change in Africa in the waning years of decolonization. It is strongly premised on the assumption that international politics are generally a mix of conflicting and cooperative relationships. It is in this context that Nigeria-United States Relations examines Nigeria-United States perspectives and those positions taken by both countries on the issue of political change in Africa. Professor Smart Uhakheme derives his arguments by using Angola, Zimbabwe, Namibia, and South Africa as case studies. Professor Uhakheme's investigation provides a thorough understanding and discussion of the importance of these delicately balanced relationships."--BOOK JACKET.
The Plight of Haitian Refugees by
Call Number: B 304.873 M648
Publication Date: 1984
Prophets of a Just Society by
Call Number: B 303.61 M6471p 2002
This book examines four such men who sought to achieve a just society through non-violence -- Mohandas Gandhi, Martin Luther King Jr, Albert Luthuli, and Desmond Tutu. ..
Reflections on Civic Engagement by
Call Number: B 307.14 P8821r 2009
Dr. Powell is an alumnus.
Revisiting Kwame Nkrumah by
Call Number: B 966.705 G6621r 2016
The book draws on various sources, including interviews, academic seminars, reflections on Kwame Nkrumah by his contemporaries, family members, the youth in Ghana, Africanists, and selected original academic papers focusing on Kwame Nkrumah's life and times. It concludes that President Kwame Nkrumah's Pan-African vision in the 1950s and 1960s remains relevant today and for the future of Africa in the 21st century. The book includes an appendix - a comprehensive list of books and speeches by Kwame Nkrumah, and works about him by scholars and practitioners.
The Saga of Reaching Higher Education by
Call Number: SPEC 813.6 S89472s 2000
Teenage Pregnancy by
Call Number: 306.856 T2585 1990
Book chapter by Alva Barnett, "Factors that adversely affect the health and well-being of African-American adolescent mothers and their infants "
Winning the Future for Africa and the Diaspora by
Call Number: B 305.8996 G6621w 2011
The idea of African unity, the Pan-African Movement, the problems of nation building in Africa, and the history of the African Diaspora have attracted scholars and practitioners from all walks of life. The current deteriorating trends in Africa and the Diaspora have raised serious questions about the future of Africa and African descendants in the New World and beyond. This book focuses on five selected major imperatives for winning the future for Africa and the Diaspora: education, health, economy, rule of law and leadership.
More Scholarly and Technical Books- selected list of books written by alumni
Africa: Its True role in the Ancient World by
Call Number: B 907.2 M733a 2012
This book is designed to assist the advanced mathematics and science students through the maze of the Ancient World/Hellenistic World/ Classical World and its flow into the Modern World. This book will not only put critical events in perspective but also in their true chronological order. This book will give the reader knowledge of the history of the Mediterranean World from the Persian Empire to the 1883 A.D. discovery of electricity and beyond. From the seven wonders of the ancient world to ancient warfare and ancient machines of war and peace to Africa’s development and implementation of the disciplines of mathematics, all engineering sciences, physics, chemistry, metallurgy, statistics, medicine, masonry, technology, ethics, political science, metaphysics, astronomy, astrology and philosophy. In general, the reader will be introduced to a world that was developed and maintained by the mind of the African. This way of thought has maintained the world up to the modern age. Most importantly, the reader will learn through deductive and inductive reasoning where the origin of the western world really begins—who educated whom, when this education took place, where it took place, how long this educational environment lasted, the manner in which the professors and master teachers were treated, when the course of the world changed, who changed it, how it was changed and why. If the reader is tired of “keep your eyes on the prize!” and wants to know what the prize is and whether or not the African deserves the prize, then read this book and be informed.
African American Theater by
Call Number: B 792.0899 H413a 1994
The book traces the history of African American theatre from its beginnings to the present. It analyses the types of plays written for this theatre, identifies the perennial problems faced by theatre artists and producing companies, and makes bold, innovative proposals for the theatre's healthy survival. The book draws on a considerable body of information that is carefully assembled in a lively accessible language. Professor Hay suggests that this theatre has been not only the cultural repository for African American life and history but also the forum where important ideas and aspirations of a people have been advanced and argued. The book presents a coherent and detailed scrutiny of the major stages of the development of African American theatre.
Bethune-Cookman College, 1904-1994: Bethune-Cookman College, 1904-1994 : the answered prayer to a dream by
Call Number: 378.75921 F599b 1995 -copies in several collections
Written by alumnus Dr. Sheila Flemming, this book traces the history of the the college from 1904 to 1994.
The Black private college--strategies for its survival by
Call Number: SPEC 378.08996 B7979b 1974
Library has 2 print copies of this dissertation.
Comparative analysis of traditional and contemporary gospel music (Chapter) IN More Than Dancing by
Call Number: B 781.7296 M835 1985
Ed Bullins by
Call Number: B 812.54 B937Yh 1997
A literary biography of African American playwright Ed Bullins, this work chronicles the life and work of a man who dominated the New York theatre scene between 1968 and 1982. It examines Bullins within the context of African American intellectual history and dramatic theory.
The Golden Age of Gospel by
Call Number: B 782.25 B7911g 2000
Professional gospel performer, composer, and scholar Horace Clarence Boyer presents the first definitive history of the vibrant, visceral tradition of black gospel music. Originally published as How Sweet the Sound, this authoritative work is beautifully illustrated with Lloyd Yearwood's arresting photographs of gospel's greatest performers backstage and in the heat of performance. Skillfully blending music history and social context, Boyer traces the development of gospel from its earliest beginnings through the Golden Age (1945-55) and into the 1960s when gospel entered the concert hall. He introduces dozens of the genre's most gifted contributors, from Thomas A. Dorsey and Mahalia Jackson to the Soul Stirrers and Aretha Franklin, evoking their distinctive styles and distinguishing among the characteristic sounds of gospel music in Chicago, Philadelphia, Detroit, St. Louis, and other locations. Capturing the essence of a thrilling performance tradition, The Golden Age of Gospel clearly establishes gospel's importance as an authentic American art form and a musical statement of profound belief.
How Sweet the Sound by
Call Number: B 782.25 B791h 1995
There is no artistic outpouring more likely to stir the soul and shake the rafters than the African American sacred folk music called gospel. How Sweet the Sound takes us from Los Angeles, where the first notes of the undeniably new sound burst forth in 1906, to the Deep South, where ecstatic worshippers in the Pentecostal churches forged the gospel tradition. Then from Chicago, with the mass northern migration of African Americans in the 1930s, gospel entered the mainstream of American popular culture.In How Sweet the Sound, music historian Horace Clarence Boyer charts gospel's emergence as a discrete musical style in the early 1900s. He details its heyday in the years from 1945 to 1955 and describes its development through the 1960s, when the soulful strains of the once-churchbound music could be heard in the finest concert halls in the country.A gospel singer himself, Boyer brings added insight to the story of this extraordinary indigenous American art form and the equally extraordinary people who created it. He explains the various styles and stages of the music, and refers to more than a hundred of gospel's finest, from Thomas A. Dorsey and Mahalia Jackson to the Soul Stirrers and Aretha Franklin. Rare performance photographs and backstage studies by Lloyd Yearwood illustrate Boyer's text.
Hymns and songs: performance notes (chapter) IN Readings in African American Church Music and Worship by
Call Number: B 264.2 R2874 2001
This volume is a monumental assemblage of essays and articles discussing the role of music and worship in African American churches. A century's worth of writing—some previously unpublished—includes pieces from pastors, scholars, theologians, historians, ethnomusicologists, organists, and choral conductors. Topics include historical perspectives, surveys of hymnals and hymnody, liturgical hymnody, worship, composers, organs, and contemporary perspectives.
Must I Tell it? I Gotta Tell It! A Book of Sermons that Are Promoting, Pronouncing, Propelling, Prospering and Providential by
Call Number: B 252.061 H1741m 2008
The Nickson View II:the answer to the Horowitz-10 by
Call Number: B 305.896 N632n 2002
This book "discusses everything in a continuum from ancient Hebrew law, to the September 11,2001 terrorist attacks, to the present Middle-East conflict, and how those events reflect on the reparations debate...."
The Rich Heritage of Stewart Memorial United Methodist Church by Reaching Out to All
In 1868, with the nation in general disarray following the American Civil War, the Methodist Church began to form mission churches for freed Blacks in the South. It was out of these mission efforts that the historically important Stewart Memorial Methodist Church was founded in 1893 Daytona, Florida.
In 1939, when several Methodist Churches reunited and assumed the title Methodist Church, Black Methodist Churches were included, but they were placed in the segregated Central Jurisdiction of the Methodist Church. Stewart Memorial Episcopal Church was renamed Stewart Memorial Methodist Church. There was still another change to come. When serveral Methodist-based churches united in 1967 and became the United Methodist Church, Stewart Memorial assumed its present name, Stewart Memorial United Methodist Church.
Since its beginning, more than forty ministers have served pastoral charges at Stewart Memorial. Through the years, the United Methodist Church evolved, and so did Stewart Memorial, but the basis foundation of Methodism was unshakable. Methodism, as perceived by John Wesley, emphasized small group worship, which was described as:
"A company of men having the form and seeking the power of godliness, united in order to pray together, to receive the word of exhortation, and to watch over one another in love, that they may help each other to work out their salvation."
Making up these small groups under Wesley were those who had "adesire to flee from the wrath to come, and to be saved from their sins."
It is upon the sound foundation of Methodism, as emphasized by Wesley, that Stewart Memorial was founded and continues to exist.
Call Number: B 287.675921 M6471r 2011. Copies in several collections
The Wife / The Other Woman by
Publication Date: 1995
"Research indicates that Eighty – Five percent of all America’s problems are directly related to dysfunctional families. Most of these families have been damaged by divorce. Many men have left their wives and children for younger women. Some women have left their husbands, as well. Our children are experiencing hurt that remains with them, forever. It does not matter what age they are, the hurt remains.
Infidelity destroys million of families, communities, society, and the whole nation. This I know from first hand experience, from teaching Psychology, the many counseling experiences and interviews I have encountered. The Wife / The Other woman was written after careful research to provide hope, and new life to the reader, especially to those who are experiencing pain. Each character in the book is a composite of every wife, every husband, every other woman/man and every child. The book easily invites the reader to become involved with the characters. The Wife / The Other Woman appeals to persons of all ages. The judgment that began in the house has reached our cities and is prevalent within our nation. Actually, it is an international problem."- Amazon.com
More Scholarly and Technical Books- selected list of books written by alumni
Nobody Wants Your Child by
Call Number: 649.125
Publication Date: 2006
Parenting in the new millennium! We spend more money on our kids than ever before. They tend to do less work around the house than ever. Add to that the fact that they have more freedom of movement and we end up with a situation where jobs that historically went to young people are being given to senior citizens and even the mentally challenged. The perception is that our children today are lazy and have low work ethic. The federal government says more and more of them will be living at home with their parents longer. Nobody Wants Your Child explains to parents in a common sense way how we got in this situation and more importantly how to make sure that our kids will be wanted in the work place.