Collection Development and Purchase Suggestions: Collection Development Policy

Purpose

The purpose of the collection development policy is to provide guidelines under which selecting, maintaining and deselecting materials are to proceed for the Library, including the Media Center.  It is recognized that there are situations in which it is more effective for to devote resources to providing access to information rather than in building collections.   The Library is therefore committed to providing access to collections and information wherever they exist in the world. 

This document is intended to explain the collection development policies of the Library to the College faculty, administration, students, and other interested parties.  The policy is purposely general to allow for individuals initiative and judgment in collection development.  It is subject to continuing change as new ideas and types of materials become available in the collection development process.

Mission Statement

• Provide resources and services that support and promote academic excellence
• Provide timely and quality instruction in various formats to suit learner needs
• Collect, organize, and preserve significant college and community information
• Provide a pleasant environment conducive for teaching and learning and fosters high expectations
• Provide quality user-friendly services that support user needs
• Provide a library staff that are efficient, and promote continuous growth of resources and services
• Facilitate collaboration with members of the college community to improve resources and services

Responsibility for Selection

Materials selection shall be a continuing process involving librarians, administrators, faculty, and students. Materials should be purchased to support the academic curriculum and institutional programming, leisure reading. Faculty and staff members are provided request forms to request the purchase of materials for the library.  Faculty and staff

Members with specific fields of interest and experience are asked to make recommendations for materials in their respective fields as well as general references.  A list of new books and other materials, cataloged and added to the library collection, is given to faculty and staff at regular intervals.

When possible, audio-visual materials are previewed before purchase or ordered with return privilege guaranteed.

Selection Criteria

A.   Print Resources

The following authorities shall be consulted in the selection of materials:

1. Reviewing tools such as standard catalogs
2. Journal reviews
3. Various annual lists and awards
4. Recommendations from other recognized educational organizations
5. Faculty Subject Area Specialist

The following specific criteria are considered:

1. The overall purpose of the materials and how well it is accomplished.
2. Reputation and significance of the author.
3. Timeliness or permanence of the material.
4. Importance of subject matter to the collection.
5. Accuracy of material.
6. Reputation and standards of the publisher or producer.
7. Readability and reader appeal.
8. Quality of writing and illustrations.
9. Appearance of the title in material selection aids.
10. Price.

B.    Audiovisual and Computer Software

Criteria include:

1. Materials or software must meet a specific objective of the curriculum or supports and activity with which the institution is associated.
2. Materials or software is current in content, presentation and production.
3. There is a demonstrated need for the material or software either because the material does not exist in this area of the collection or that it is damaged or obsolete.

Deselection Policy

Purpose

A primary goal of the Carl S. Swisher Library is to make available the best possible resources in the most current and relevant format to the faculty, staff, students, and administrators.  To achieve this goal the collection must be frequently evaluated based on the listed criteria below.  Any materials that fail to be the desired criteria are subject to withdrawal from the collection after being reviewed by the library faculty and teaching faculty subject area specialist. 

Deselection Criteria

1. What is the value of the item to the collection?  Does it support the curriculum? Does it have intrinsic value?
2. Is the item listed in standard library guides on bibliographies?
3. Is it a duplicate copy?  If so, does the collection
4. What is the physical state of the book?  If damaged, can it be repaired?
5. Would the material be of value to a researcher?
6. Is there a newer edition?
7. Is the item part of a set?
8. Is the title unique to the Carl S. Swisher Library?
9. What is the frequency of circulation?

Deselection Process

1. The weeding of the collection will be primarily governed by the library staff. Teaching faculty subject specialist will be consulted when necessary.
2. Library faculty will begin the process by using standard library statistics and methods (e.g., circulation statistics, evaluation of physical condition of item, duplication, uniqueness, etc.) to select questionable materials.  Each item selected for weeding will be marked and placed in the back of the circulation department for further review. 
3. The criteria above will be used to make a final determination of the material.
4. Items listed as missing in the library’s catalog will be withdrawn as weeding occurs in the area where the items should have been located. 
5. Items that are weeded will be removed from the library’s online catalog within a reasonable time period. 
6. Items that are weeded will be redistributed or discarded according to college policies.

Gift Books and Materials

The library accepts gifts with the understanding that it has the right to handle or dispose of them in the best interest of the institution.  Such material may be added to the collection provided it meets the standards of selection.  Once given to the library and the consent form has been signed, gifts cannot be returned to the donor. 

Acknowledgement of receipt of gifts will be sent to donor(s), but the library will not evaluate gifts or provide listings for tax purposes.