Art: Home

Sign in on library search page for remote access to databases. Follow the instructions on this link. 

Call 386 481-2416 or email storyb@cookman.edu if the remote access is not working.

• Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History

 The Heilbrunn Timeline, from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, is an excellent resource for research on many art historical periods including ancient Egypt artifacts, Greek and Roman art, Byzantine, Renaissance, Asian and Central Asian art, 19th Century art movements, fashion, weaponry, and many other topics up to the early 20th century.

• Mother of All Art and Art History Links

Developed by the University of Michigan School of Art and Design, Mother of All is an extensive set of links to research resources, image collections, online digital art, art schools, art departments, and art museums.

• Google Images    Always note images subject to copyright

Search these research databases  by artist, image or concept.  Options for citations, emailing & printing information.

Search by artist or image; notice citation information.

• Art Institute of Chicago
  The database offers access to over 54,000 works and basic information about works of art from all areas of the Institute's collection.
• Guggenheim
  The site currently contains more than 1100 artworks by over 450 artists from the Guggenheim’s permanent collection of modern and contemporary art.
• J. Paul Getty Museum
  In addition to offering searching and browsing features for the collection, there are also more than 100 videos available to watch that explore the Museum's collection, artistic techniques, conservation, and exhibitions.
• Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA)
  LACMA's collections are especially strong in the areas of Asian art, Islamic art, and Latin American art.
• Louvre
  In addition to a general search bar, subject specific databases are also available covering subjects such as The Department of Prints and Drawings, exhibits, and American Art (some are available only in French).
• Metropolitan Museum of Art
  The image database consists of 370,243 searchable works, but only 258,576 have accompanying images.  Be sure to check the "show only artworks with images" box if you want to view the work.
• Musem of Modern Art
  Over 39,000 works from the museum's collection are available via the search page.
• Museo Nacional del Prado
  The English language search allows access online to approximately 1,000 works of the Museum's collection, but 5,000 are accessible with the Spanish language search. This database will enlarge until it holds the complete collection.
• Musée d'Orsay
  The museum holds the largest collection of impressionist and post-impressionist paintings in the world, many of which are available for viewing on-line.
• National Gallery of Canada
  In addition to a search feature, the database also offers browsing features by artist, century and category.
• National Portrait Gallery
  Searches can be done by artist or portrait subject, and the advanced search feature allows for the search to be narrowed by the subject's gender and profession.
• Philadelphia Museum of Art
  Over 65,000 objects from the Museum's collection are available in the online collections database.
• St. Louis Art Museum
  Over 2,500 highlights of the collection are searchable online.
• Tate Galleries
  This database contains images of over 73,000 works from all four Tate museums and has both browsing and searching features.
• Victoria and Albert Museum
  The database provides online access to over 1.1 million catalog records and over 293,000 images of objects in the Victoria and Albert collection.

• Art Images for College Teaching (AICT)
  AICT is a royalty-free image exchange resource for the educational community.  The site, which began as a personal, educational image exchange project, is maintained and distributed by the of the Minneapolis College of Art & Design.
• Visual Arts Data Servicesic. (VADS)
  VADS offers a sizable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.
• Web Gallery of Art
  This privately run site contains a searchable image database of European fine arts of the Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Realism, and Impressionism periods (1000-1900), with over 31,800 reproductions. Information provided includes artist biographies, commentaries, guided tours, and period music.