Many publishers obtain public records and publish them in their own proprietary databases, books and other types of resources. Typically, the publishers may also add enhanced metadata such as additional subject headings and a more sophisticated search interface, to name a few features. They may also add these records to databases that include other types of resources such as journal articles, books, and reference works.
On this page are some databases from both the B-CU Swisher Library and the local public library system that include public records along with other types of information.
While the video above demonstrates advance searching in the News section, notice there is also a Company/Financial and Legal section. The information on advanced searching will also help you when searching for information in these sections as well.
A public library card is one of the most helpful investigative tools a journalist can have. Each library system will have a variety of databases that you will find useful. Below are some databases from the local library system:
Most databases require a public library card for remote access. (However a few databases are available only in the public library.) But people can walk in and sign up for a public access terminal. However, it may be easier if you bring your own laptop, tablet or other device and login into the library's Wifi.
Volusia County Library System - some resources of interest include:
Current Information
Global Issues -Hundreds of daily-updated, full-text English language international periodicals and newspapers included in Global Issues in Context offer local viewpoints, virtually transporting the user to where news is happening.
The New York Times- archive access from 1851-1922 and 1981-present only.
Historical Information
Ancestry Library Edition - available only in the library (during the pandemic, remote access was temporarily authorized by the provider but that has now ceased.) This resource includes records from the U.S. Census, military records, court, land and probate records, vital and church records, directories, passenger lists and more.
America's Historical Newspapers (Newsbank)- Searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. Available here: Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876; Series 2, 1758-1900 and Series 3, 1829-1922
Fold3 History and Genealogy Archives Plus - Fold3 combines an unprecedented collection of original historical documents and personal histories including convenient access to US military records. Fold3 offers access to several special collections, including the African American Archives, American Revolution Archives, Holocaust Archives, Native American Archives, US Bureau of Investigation Case File Archives, and World War II Archives.
HeritageQuest Online - This collection includes U.S. federal censuses, family genealogies, city directories, land, probate, birth, marriage and death records, related serials, Periodical Source Index, Pension files and more....
The New York Times- archive access from 1851-1922 and 1981-present only.