|
Prefix |
Collection |
Notes |
||
|
|
|
|
|
|
| B |
Black Collection |
On the left, as you come up the main stairs | ||
|
No prefix |
Main Collection |
To the right of the Black collection. There are two sections: 001 to 600s and 700s to 900s. |
||
|
J |
Juvenile Collection |
After the 900s in the Main Collection Shelves |
||
|
J with the words “Big Book” on the call number. |
Juvenile Collection |
A very small collection of very large books is placed in a rolling cart near the Juvenile Collection. This is the one collection that DOES NOT need to be put in call number order. It's a small browsing collection. |
||
|
GRAPHIC NOVEL |
Graphic Novels and Comics Collection |
After the Juvenile Collection. |
||
|
SCORE |
Music Scores Collection |
At the back of the 2nd floor, next to the large set of brown legal books |
||
|
R (with a white spine label) |
Reference Collection |
Upstairs on the north wall by the double glass doors. |
||
|
OS |
Oversize Collection |
By the Interlibrary Loan office. Shelves wrap around in a U-shape |
||
|
SPEC |
Special Collections |
These are shelved by the Archives Dept. Put books on Dr. West-White's book cart in Technical processing (1st floor). |
||
|
ARCH. ARCX |
Archives |
same as SPEC books |
||
|
Prefix |
|
Collection |
Notes |
|
| Various Course Codes | Reserves (also called Course Reserves) | Books are located behind the Circulation Desk. Filed by course prefix and course number. | ||
| (Technical Services staff adds new books to this collection). | New Books | An ever-changing informal selection of newly added books is shelved near the Circulation Desk. Shelved by call number within each collection (Main, Black, and Juvenile.) After several months books are shelved in their respective collection upstairs. | ||
|
R (with yellow spine label) |
Ready Reference |
next to Reference offices downstairs |
||
|
TS |
Ask Staff for Assistance |
Extra copies of books were removed from the Black Collection for space reasons and given the prefix TS. Shelved near the kitchen area in Technical Services. |
||
|
Media |
Academic Media
|
Media is not checked out too much anymore. Shelved on the wall opposite Ms. Houston's office. |
||
|
BP |
Bound Periodicals |
Located on free-standing metal shelves in Technical Services |
||
Revised 4/6/2024