Citation Tracking Guide: Home

EBSCOHost Research Databases

• Databases Include Academic Search Complete, Audiobooks, CINAHL Full-Text Plus, Classic ebooks, Communication and Mass Media Complete, GREEN File, Hospitality and Tourism Complete, and SocINDEX with Full Text.
  • Browsing & Searching Cited References (with screenshots) -
    • Some EBSCO databases provide the ability to "browse references." When you run a Basic or Advanced Keyword Search, any Cited References or Times Cited in this Database links that are available are presented with your search results. 
  • EBSCOhost Searchable Cited References - FAQs

JSTOR 

 The Citation Locator feature has been discontinued by JSTOR

Google Scholar

• Provides citation counts for a wide variety of materials. May need to remove self-cites and duplicate sites
• Google Scholar Profiles -how to set up and other information.

IEEE Explore

(ProQuest) Dissertations & Theses

 If the article has been cited by other documents in ProQuest databases, Cited by (N) will appear below the citation.

PubMed

ScienceDirect

• While the B-CU Library does not subscribe to this database,  by clicking the title of a result, any searcher can view abstract and other information about the document, including who to date has cited the document

SpringerLink

• Select "Metrics" link which is listed after the citation.  (Library only has  full-text access to some issues and e-books)

Academia.edu

CiteSeerX

CrossRef

Dimensions (free version)

• "Dimensions contains more than 100 million publications, ranging from articles published in scholarly journals, books and book chapters, to preprints and conference proceedings. All publications are contextualized with linked data sets, funding, publications, patents, clinical trials, and policy documents. You can also view associated categories, funders, institutions, and researcher profiles."

• Although you don’t have to register to use Dimensions, setting up a free account enables you to:

  • Create favorites
  • Export data for bibliometric mapping with VOSviewer or CiteSpace
  • Save and organize your research references with the ReadCube Cloud Library
  • Link publications to your ORCID record

OpenAlex  (Coming. Scheduled to launch September 2002.)

ResearchGate

Scinapse 

• Academic search engine

Scopus Previews  (Free sections)

•  offers free profiles to all indexed authors. 
  •  Review yours, claim it, and update it — all for free! View an author profile 
  • You can also search for brief information about any indexed author

• Look for free journal rankings and metrics?

  • Scopus offers free metrics to non-subscribers. View journal rankings 

Scopus - Fee-based Searches

Wisconsin Tech Service  (WTS), a division of the University of Wisconsin at Madison Libraries offers fee-based research services and will conduct research of SCOPUS for users not affiliated with their university. 

Semantic Scholar.org 

• "A free, AI-powered research tool for scientific literature"  Part of the (Paul) Allen Institute for AI.

Web of Science (Free Sections)

• Register for a free author profile 
• Profile in the free version shows how many times each publication has been cited, among other details. But a subscription is necessary to see complete information. Can also search for brief information about other researchers.

This guide is under construction.  Additional materials will be added in the near future.

Sept. 15, 2022

While  B-CU Library does not have access to full text of Scopus or Web of Science, the following guides will have information of interest, comparing several of the most popular citation analysis providers, including SCOPUS, Web of Science, and Google Scholar.

• Citation Searching for Tenure and Promotion: Article or Book Impact/Citation Analysis (University of Georgia)

• Citation Analysis  Chart Comparing Web of Science, Scopus and Google Scholar. (Ohio State)
• Finding Citation Counts for Books and Books Chapters (Ohio State)

Connected Papers

• "Explore connected papers in a visual graph".
• Free and Premium accounts

Worldcat

• The full record display will list how many libraries own various editions of a work, which gives a measure of the its scholarly impact.