OERs (Open Educational Resources).

1.PrepSTEP 

(For  Canvas-related questions, please get in touch with the BJ Moore Center for Faculty Innovation.) 

Content includes

• Core Math, Science, Computer, and English skills
• Student Success Skills
  • including time management, multitasking, classroom success skills, research skills, getting academic support, and personal success skills. The Research skills section includes 6 Information Literacy tutorials. 
• Career Prep
• Placement Tests

Credit:Canva

PrepSTEP - Faculty Guide

• The library-prepared guide lists the contents of PrepSTEP and provides basic instructions on adding PrepSTEP content to Canvas and also on using PrepSTEP through the Library's interface. (For more detailed Canvas-related questions, please get in touch with the BJ Moore Center for Faculty Innovation.)

2. Linkedin Learning Videos

(CIT provides this resource, but it is also listed in the Library Database List for users' convenience. For information on adding LinkedIn Learning videos to your Canvas courses, please get in touch with the  BJ Moore Center for Faculty Innovation. 

Provides resources on a variety of topics, including

• Business topics
  • includes management, accounting, project management, marketing, HR, public speaking,  presentation skills, customer service skills, team collaboration techniques and leadership skills. to name some.
• Creative topics 
  •  topics include  Music Production, Web Design and Graphic Design
• Technology topics
  •  includes training on specific software  (Adobe Creative Suite, Microsoft Excel, SQL, Python, Power BI to name a few )
  • also has videos on data analysis, software engineering,  cyber security and more.

3. Ebook Collections (list of collections with descriptions)

• Many of the ebook collections in the above guide allow unlimited simultaneous access.
  • However, the number of simultaneous users allowed for titles in ebooks (EBSCO) and  Proquest  Ebook Central collections can vary by title.  More information is provided under each collection's description. (Budget permitting, the library may be able to upgrade the number of simultaneous users.
• A librarian will be happy to help you obtain the permalink (name varies by vendor)  needed to add to your course.

• If the Library does not appear to have the material(s) you need, budget permitting, the Library may be able to purchase the resource from one of our library vendors. All recommendations are considered, and each recommendation's final decision is made using the Library's collection development policy guidelines.

4. Research Guides

• Use the above  link to display  all published guides

• Librarians can also create a custom guide for your course.

• Guides, or sections of a guide can be embedded into a Canvas page. For Canvas-related questions, please get in touch with the BJ Moore Center for Faculty Innovation.)

5. Other Links of Interest 

• Library databases

• Journals (Full-text)

6. Library Instruction Classes

The Reference Department offers personal assistance as well as classroom instruction (in person or by ZOOM)  in the use of library resources to members of the B-CU community (for on-campus and remote users). : The Reference Librarians' offices are located on the first and second floors of the Carl S. Swisher Library. 

For more information, contact Clayton Duhl at (386) 481-2188 or duhlc@cookman.edu or Laura Quatrella (386) 481-2118 or lauraq@cookman.edu. 

You may also contact the librarians by submitting a Research  / Instruction Request Form