LibGuides: Health Equity: Additional Web Resources

African American Health

Resources from Organizations

Health Equity Education Center
"AMA’s online education to empower individuals and organizations, in health care and beyond, in advancing racial justice and equity." -web site

Government Departments /Databases

National Library of Medicine Information on Health Disparities
CDC.gov Health Equity Research Guide
- Selected websites and organizations where you can find more information on Health Equity.
National Institutes of Health Information
National Institute on Minority Health
Office of Minority Health- HHS
PubMed
Science.gov

Web Resources

African Journals Online
Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE)
BioMed Central
BioMed Central publishes 279 peer-reviewed open access journals.
The Community Guide
"The Guide to Community Preventive Services (The Community Guide) is a collection of evidence-based findings of the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF)."
Current Controlled Trials
"Current Controlled Trials allows users to search, register and share information about clinical trials. Access to all the information on this site is free; charges for the registration services offered by Current Controlled Trials are available on request. Publication services are also available via the range of open access peer-reviewed journals published by our sister company, BioMed Central. "
Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health -Classic Texts
"Delta Omega Archives include important texts, which have been deemed public health classics by the national council. They are generally out of print, or not widely available in libraries. Delta Omega has sponsored the reprinting of many of these texts on a limited basis. We have made these materials available to the public in an effort to preserve the historical record and founding ideals of the society."
Directory of Open Access Journals
GapMinder
Google Scholar
Grey Literature Report in Public Health
}The report is a bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine (NYAM) alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics. The database platform is keyword searchable and serves as an archive for the cataloged reports."
more...less...
Grey literature is "that which is produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats, but which is not controlled by commercial publishers."
Health Evidence
"...database of 6,474 quality-rated reviews on the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions, including cost data"
James Lind Library
"The James Lind Library has been created to help people understand fair tests of treatments in health care."
LILACS
"A bibliographic index of literature on health sciences, published in the countries of Latin America and the Caribbean since 1982". Some full text.
MedlinePlus
Model Practice Database (NACCHO)
National Equity Atlas
Welcome to the National Equity Atlas, a comprehensive data resource to track, measure, and make the case for inclusive growth.
POPLINE
"provides access to 370,000 carefully selected publications and resources related to family planning and reproductive health".
ProMED
"The Program for Monitoring Emerging Diseases (ProMED) is a program of the International Society for Infectious Diseases (ISID)....ProMED is the largest publicly-available system conducting global reporting of infectious diseases outbreaks."
PubMed
SciELO
Science.gov
TOXNET
Government resource for searching databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases, including TOXLINE .More than 13 databases.
Trials Register of Promoting Health Interventions (TRoPHI)
"...focused coverage of trials of interventions in health promotion and public health worldwide. It covers both randomised and non-randomised controlled trials and currently contains details of over 4,500 trials."