Genealogy:Finding Your Roots Research: Everyday life from 1900 to 2009

American Decades - this e-reference set is available in the Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) database.

 Use the following links to access the volumes:

• American Decades, 10 v, (1900-1999) -  By default, the volume for 1900-1909  is displayed, For other decades, see the screenshot on the right for hint on browsing the table of contents for other volumes.

• American Decades: v. 11 (2000-2009)

• American Decades Primary Sources, 10 v, (1900-1999) - By default, the volume for 1900-1909  is displayed, For other decades, see the screenshot on the right for hint on browsing the table of contents for other volumes.

• American Decades Primary Sources Vol. 11: 2000-2009.

GVRL (Gale Virtual Reference Library)- additional resources include:

Bowling, Beatniks, and Bell Bottoms, Pop Culture of 20th Century America (e-reference set) covers 1900 to 2009
The hairstyles, slang terms, advertising jingles, pop music sensations, and all else described as popular culture is covered in this 5-vol. reference work.     

By default, the volume for 1900-1910  is displayed, For other decades, select decade from the dropdown menu. 

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture (e-reference set)
"Includes more than 2,700 signed essays ranging from 500 to 2,500 words, written by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. Entries include subject-specific bibliographies and, where appropriate, photographs and textual cross-references to related essays." 

• Google Newspaper Archive  Dates vary. 

Note:Many of the newspaper articles in Google Newspaper Archive are full-text.

• History.com -articles, videos, images and facts
  • 1920s
  • 1930s
  • 1940s -the US homefront during WW II
  • 1950s
  • 1960s
  • 1970s

• Infoplease -Year by Year (1900 +)