Public Health: Additional Web Resources

"CDC is the nation’s leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public’s health."

The National Library of Medicine "maintains a comprehensive web site that provides access to resources produced by it and by other government agencies and organizations. This web site includes links to (Toxnet) databases, bibliographies, tutorials, and other scientific and consumer-oriented resources."

BioMed Central publishes 279 peer-reviewed open access journals.

"The Guide to Community Preventive Services (The Community Guide) is a collection of evidence-based findings of the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF)."

"Current Controlled Trials allows users to search, register and share information about clinical trials. Access to all the information on this site is free; charges for the registration services offered by Current Controlled Trials are available on request. Publication services are also available via the range of open access peer-reviewed journals published by our sister company, BioMed Central. "

"Delta Omega Archives include important texts, which have been deemed public health classics by the national council. They are generally out of print, or not widely available in libraries. Delta Omega has sponsored the reprinting of many of these texts on a limited basis. We have made these materials available to the public in an effort to preserve the historical record and founding ideals of the society."

}The report is a bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine (NYAM) alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics. The database platform is keyword searchable and serves as an archive for the cataloged reports."

"...database of 6,474 quality-rated reviews on the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions, including cost data"

"The James Lind Library has been created to help people understand fair tests of treatments in health care."

"A bibliographic index of literature on health sciences, published in the countries of Latin America and the Caribbean since 1982". Some full text.

Welcome to the National Equity Atlas, a comprehensive data resource to track, measure, and make the case for inclusive growth.

"provides access to 370,000 carefully selected publications and resources related to family planning and reproductive health".

"The Program for Monitoring Emerging Diseases (ProMED) is a program of the International Society for Infectious Diseases (ISID)....ProMED is the largest publicly-available system conducting global reporting of infectious diseases outbreaks."

Government resource for searching databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases, including TOXLINE .More than 13 databases.

"...focused coverage of trials of interventions in health promotion and public health worldwide. It covers both randomised and non-randomised controlled trials and currently contains details of over 4,500 trials."