EN 132 College English II: Topics in Monday's Not Coming

• Brevity Stories about Child Abuse
• Best databases on the topic that students should use but typically don't know to look for.

  • Child Welfare Information Gateway

  • Dissertations & Theses*

  • Psychology Collection*
• Other Recommended Sources
  • NPR Selections on Child Abuse
  • Independent Voices*
  • World Newspapers*
  • Nexis-Uni*
  • Out of Darkness, Into Light: Child Sexual Abuse
  • Films about Child Abuse
  • THINK UNBROKEN | CPTSD and Trauma Coach Podcast
    • *These databases can be used across all topics.

• WorldCat 
• IEEE Xplore Digital Library (IEL)
• EBSCO Host Research Databases
• Economics and Theory Collection (Business)

Other Recommended Sources

• Aesthetics of Gentrification (ebook)
• Housing Studies (journal)

• NPR and Housing

• Gentrification and Displacement | KCET (Documentary)

• Priced Out: The Documentary*

*Free with Kanopy. Kanopy is available to Volusia county library card holders.

• Brevity stories about Mental Health

• MedlinePlus 

• National Center for Health Statistics 

• PubMed

• CINAHL Complete

• Health And Wellness

• Magill's Medical Guide 8th edition

• Psychology Collection 

Other Recommended Sources

• Mental Health Documentaries

  • BBC Three - Being Black, Going Crazy?

  • Outside the House: A Mental Health Documentary

• List of Mental Health Podcasts

  • Therapy for Black Girls

• Mental Health : NPR

Possible Research Topics

• Adolescents with Mental Illness
• Memory Disorders
• PTSS - Prost-Traumatic Stress Syndrome & Adolescents
• Self Esteem & Adolescent Poverty
• Child Development (Siblings)
• Peer Acceptance*

*Some topics can be researched within varied themes. Peer acceptance can also be located in databases about education.

• Business Insights Essentials (Gale)
• MedlinePlus
• Academic Search Complete
• SpringerLink journals & ebooks
• ERIC Education Research Center
• General OneFile
• Academic One File
• Health and Medicine

Other Recommended Sources

• List of Parenting Podcasts

• Parenting : NPR

• Documentaries

  • 72% A Documentary - YouTube

  • Growing Up Poor in America

  • (un)wanted | Foster Care Documentary [4k] (2017)

  • 1986 SPECIAL REPORT:"THE VANISHING BLACK FAMILY"

  • Black Lives: Illusion. Teenage motherhood, single-parent families, and the child poverty trap

  • Killing creativity: Are schools or parents to blame (Library DVD, Documentary)

Possible Research Topics

• Absenteeism

• Parenting Children with Mental Illness

• Parent-Child Communication

• Helicopter Parenting

• Directory of Open Access Journals
• Florida Open Academic Library
• Business Insights Essentials (Gale) 
• Business
• Regional Business News (EBSCO)
• Black Studies Center (includes Black Enterprise)
• Culinary Arts Collection
• Hospitality & Tourism Complete (Ebsco)
• Hospitality and Tourism
• Digital Commons Network
• SEC.Gov EDGAR

Other Recommended Sources

• Freakonomics Radio

• Capitalism: A love story. (Library DVD, Documentary)

• BOSS: The Black Experience in Business | PBS

• Death is Our Business (full documentary) | FRONTLINE

• She Did That (2019) (Nexflix)

• Black Business Owners’ Ranks Collapse by 41% in U.S. Lockdowns (you can request articles via InterLibrary Loan)

• Annual Business Survey Release Provides Data on Minority- and Women-Owned Businesses (Census)

• Small Business Facts: Black Business Owners Hit Hard By Pandemic (Small Business Administration)

Possible Research Topics

• Education Week
• Educators Reference Complete
• SocINDEX with Full Text
• Teacher Reference Center
• ERIC Education Research Center 

Other Recommended Sources

• PBS Special - Learning Technics

• possABILITY: A learning disability documentary | Mencap

• Normal Isn't Real

• Videos | Headstrong Nation

• The Cult of Pedagogy Podcast

• TED Talks Daily (podcast)

• School Psyched! (From ADHD strategies to education technology) (podcast)

• ASCD Learn Teach Lead Radio (podcast)

• Unregistered (podcast)

• Moving at the Speed of Creativity (podcast)

• Fast Facts: School crime (49) (National Center for Education Statistics)

• What Do the Data Reveal About Violence in Schools?

• School Violence Fact Sheet - CDC (PDF) (National Institute on Justice)

• School-Associated Violent Death Study |Violence Prevention - Center for Disease Control (CDC)

• 50-State Comparison: K-12 Funding (Education Commission of the States)

• We're not stupid : living with a learning difference (Library DVD, documentary)

Possible Research Topics

• Bullying
• School Choice
• School Funding
• School Programs in Underserved populations and/or areas
• Psycho-social Development & Education
• Information Privacy

• Learning Difficulties

  • and Stigma
  • and Accommodations
  • and Ethnicity
  • and Success

Sample Search Results

"Learning difficulties" AND Stigma - Catalog

• use "" around terms that you want to search as one

• use AND when you are searching for more than one term or keyword

"Learning difficulties" AND Stigma - EBSCO Host Research Database

• select ALL databases

• ICPSR. Sharing Data to Advance Science

• Google Scholar

• Criminal Justice Collection

• Diversity Studies eCollection

• Gender Studies Collection

• American Fact Finder/Census Data

Other Recommended Sources

• State Laws on Reporting and Responding to Child Abuse and Neglect

• Required to Report: A documentary

• Snitch | FRONTLINE | PBS (Documentary)

• The Cuéntame Project- Teaser #1 (COVID disrupted full release)

• Ableism (includes videos, definitions, types of disabilities and examples)

• ‎Be Antiracist with Ibram X. Kendi: Ableism & Racism Roots of the Same Tree (podcast)

• ‎ABA on Call: CentralReach "ABA On Call" Podcast - Ep. 15 ABA and Ableism (podcast)

• Ableism, mental illness and the medical profession by CMAJ (podcast)

• Dark girls (Library DVD, documentary)

• Emmanuel's gift (Library DVD, documentary, ableism in Ghana)

Possible Research Topics

• Mandatory Reporting

• Invisibility of Ethnicity

• Ableism

• Missing Children & Ethnicity