Skip to Main Content
site header image

Reading for Fun and Pleasure: Dewey Decimal Chart & Call Numbers

Use the links below to find books on a certain category, such as romance novels or science fiction.s

Dewey Decimal System

The Carl S. Swisher Library has more than 12 collections and, in total, more than 76,000 books., with most of the books on the 2nd floor of the Library.

Most of the Library's collections are organized using the Dewey Decimal (Dewey) Classification System.

  • Many of you will be familiar with the Dewey Decimal  Classification System (because it was used in your high school and in your local public library).(Yes, it was first developed by a man named Melvin  Dewey.)

●One thing you will notice is that the Swisher Library, like most academic libraries that use Dewey, has more detailed call numbers than those you remember from your school or public library.

  • For example, in the public library or in high school, novels have a  FIC prefix .
  • In the Swisher library, the current novels are assigned a classification number from 813.5 to 813.6. 

Chart

Dewey Decimal Chart (Credit:printablee.com)

More about the Library Collections and How to Find Books on the Shelves

Collections and Call Numbers

The Library has many collections. The collection name for each item is listed in the catalog record.

Parts of a Call Number

 

 

The call number is an item's physical location within a collection. The call number is on the book's spine and also listed in the catalog record. Most of the collections use the Dewey Decimal System

  • Like most academic libraries that use the Dewey Decimal System to classify books, fiction, and biographies are given a  Dewey number. They are not put in separate sections like in a public library, such as  Bio or Fic, as a prefix .
  • By the way, Most fiction is in the Literature section (800s), and biographies are usually in their subject areas. For example, a biography of a musician would be in the Music section (700s.)
    • But the catalog record will display the collection and call number. 
    • If you don't see a book on the shelf, please ask a library staff member for help.