Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books & eBooks
Cite It Right (eBook) by
Publication Date: 2007-09-28
By simplifying the complex citation process, this detailed guide enables writers to confidently investigate a topic and accurately quote the resulting research in a variety of documents without having to consult four separate style tomes. From gathering credible sources and developing strong topics to writing thesis statements and ensuing revisions, each step of the research paper writing process is discussed, with particular emphasis placed on supporting academic integrity and eliminating plagiarism. A straightforward compilation of the four major writing-style manuals--American Psychological Association (APA), Chicago Manual of Style (CMS), Council of Science Editors (CSE), and the Modern Language Association (MLA)--this fully revised handbook distills the major concepts into easily understandable terms and provides complete citation examples for each source type.
Doing Honest Work in College by
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
Since its publication in 2004, Doing Honest Work in College has become an integral part of academic integrity and first-year experience programs across the country. This helpful guide explains the principles of academic integrity in a clear, straightforward way and shows students how to apply them in all academic situations--from paper writing and independent research to study groups and lab work. Teachers can use this book to open a discussion with their students about these difficult issues.
The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plaigarism (eBook) by
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
This excellent new edition of The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism will continue to demystify the referencing process and provide essential guidance on making sure you are not committing plagiarism.
You were given a writing assignment to complete and told to locate and incorporate research and data into your paper to support your thesis or claims. These sources are designed to guide you through the research process and provide information on how to investigate ideas and information, validate your sources, assist with grammar and helps you format your research agenda and purpose.
The Little, Brown Handbook by
Publication Date: 2011-10-13
The Little, Brown Handbook provides reliable and thorough coverage of handbook basics--the writing process, grammar and usage, research and documentation--while also giving detailed discussions of critical reading, academic writing, reading and writing arguments, writing in the disciplines, and public writing. Widely used by both experienced and inexperienced writers, The Little, Brown Handbook works as both a comprehensive classroom text and an accessible reference guide.
The Curious Researcher by
Publication Date: 2003-03-10
Featuring an engaging, direct writing style and inquiry-based approach, this popular research guide stresses that curiosity is the best reason for investigating ideas and information.An appealing alternative to traditional research texts, The Curious Researcher stands apart for its motivational tone and its conviction that research writing can be full of rewarding discoveries. Offering a wide variety of examples from student and professional writers, this popular guide shows that good research and lively writing do not have to be mutually exclusive. Students are encouraged to find ways to bring their writing to life, even though they are writing with facts. A unique chronological organization sets up achievable writing goals while it provides week-by-week guidance through the research process. Full explanations of the technical aspects of writing and documenting source-based papers help students develop sound research and analysis skills.
A Writer's Reference by
Publication Date: 2010-10-25
A Writer's Reference, the most widely adopted handbook in the United States, continues to be groundbreaking in its simplicity, offering the right content in an accessible format. New coauthor Nancy Sommers's own research, campus travel, and classroom experience keep the handbook in tune with the needs of academic writers. In a trusted quick-reference format, the seventh edition delivers advice on all the right topics: working with sources, revising with comments, preparing a portfolio, and more. A Writer's Reference offers unprecedented flexibility with several versions to choose from — a handbook that's truly at your service. Read the preface.