Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the BCU Archives collections page. Here are the collections housed in the BCU Archives. To search through the finding aids in your web browser select CTRL & F to to make the search box appear. This will allow you to conduct a keyword search.
Mary McLeod Bethune Collection
Mary McLeod Bethune Collection Finding Aid
Mary McLeod Bethune, civil rights activist and educator, is the founder of what is now known as Bethune-Cookman University. These materials contain her personal papers and correspondence as well and documents and correspondence from involvement with the National Council of Negro Women, several federal agencies on which she served as well as other organizations. Materials include correspondence, photographs, news clippings, and printed material.
J.A. Colston Collection
J.A. Colston Collection Finding Aid
James A. Colston served as president of Bethune-Cookman College from 1942 – 1946. Under Colston’s leadership, Bethune-Cookman College was transformed from a two year un-accredited institution to a four year accredited liberal arts college. His success at Bethune-Cookman College led Dr. Colston to become president of Georgia State College in Georgia, Knoxville College in Tennessee and Bronx Community College of New York. He was the first black person to be appointed president of a New York City College unit.
Cleo S. Higgins Collection
Cleo S. Higgins Collection Finding Aid
Cleo Sury Higgins is a former Bethune-Cookman University faculty member who served in various academic positions over a period of forty years and three presidential administrations. She is also responsible for bringing Greek life to the University campus when she founded the Iota Beta Chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated in 1948. She was later elected as Grand Basileus of the National Organization in 1962.
H.C. Boyer Collection
H.C. Boyer Collection Finding Aid
Horace Clarence Boyer, a native of Winter Park, Florida and foremost scholar in African American gospel music, received his Bachelor’s degree in Music from Bethune-Cookman College in Daytona Beach, Florida and furthered his study of music by earning M.A. and Ph.D. degrees from the Eastman School of Music of the University of Rochester (New York). Materials include correspondence, photographs, news clippings, printed and audio visual materials.
Attica Prison Riot Collection
Attica Prison Riot Collection Finding Aid
The Attica Prison Riot took place at the Attica Correctional Facility in Attica, New York on September 13, 1971. The Attica Prison Riot Collection is comprised of original copies of the court case led by attorney William J. Cunningham and Lynda Tolliver Jones against New York State.
B-CU Oral History Project
B-CU Oral History Project Finding Aid
The BCU Oral History Collection represents the work of hundreds of BCU students and interviewees. Since 2001, students in the College of Liberal Arts courses, specifically Oral History and African American History, have continuously studied the vision and impact of Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune as well as the rich history of Bethune Cookman University and blacks in Florida. The voices and stories in the BCU Oral History Collection document some of the vision, impact, and history of Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune. Students in African American History classes created portfolios of interviews with elders. Students in Oral History classes interviewed BCU individuals with long relationships with the school - many who knew Mrs. Bethune personally. Local veterans as part of the Library of Congress Veterans History Project contributed personal stories from WWII, the Korean Conflict, the Vietnam War and the War on Terror. You can access their homepage at https://www.cookman.edu/history/
B-CU Publications Collection
B-CU Publications Collection Finding Aid
This collection contains publications that share and illustrate the history of Bethune-Cookman University. This includes yearbooks, graduations programs and more.
Board of Trustees Collection
Other Collections of Interest
Books by B-CU Alumni
This guide lists books written by Bethune-Cookman alumni that are represented in various collections in the Carl S. Swisher Library.
A list of books about B-CU alumni is also included.