. LOCAL CATALOGING POLICIES FOR PRINT BOOKS AND OTHER PHYSICAL ITEMS
All Collections
Bethune-Cookman University has two locations housing library collections: the Carl S. Swisher Library on the Daytona Beach campus and the John W. Miller Center in Hastings. Cataloging and processing of materials for both libraries are done at the Carl S. Swisher Library.
Most print collections are classified by the Dewey Decimal System. Exceptions are:
- The DVD Movie collection – the call number consists of the prefix DVD and the first three words of the movie title.
- Reserve materials are classified by the course code and course number and reserves are usually handled by the Access Services Department.
- Current issues of periodicals are not cataloged and the processing is managed by the Access Services Department.
- Laptops, adapters, computer screens and other equipment.
All Collections -Cataloging, Classifying and Cuttering
- We use Library of Congress Subject Headings (LSCH) (and some Dewey for children’s literature) and AACR2 for original cataloging -although copy cataloging using AACR2 and RDA are both acceptable.
- For cuttering use Cutter Sanborn 4 digit cutter number (https://help.oclc.org/Metadata_Services/WebDewey/Dewey_Cutter_Program)
- Add a work mark for the title, if the book is cuttered by an author or corporate main entry. ,As needed, a second letter can be added to the work mark to differentiate a volume from another volume on the shelf. (However, shelflisting, a procedure that ensure that the call number assigned to a particular manifestation of a work (i.e., an "edition") is unique, has not been followed since around 2008 or 2009.)
- Add publication year underneath the cutter number.
- Biographies -class in their subject area, not in 920s unless book contains a collection of biographies of people from different occupations. cutter by subject of biography and add author as work mark.
- However, some biographies of Dr. Bethune and Dr. Bronson, are still in 923, while other biographies of Dr. Bethune are in 370.92s.
- Biography and books about a person are cuttered under the subject of the book and a work mark for the author or editor/compiled/selector of the book is added after the cutter number. Example. A book about Toni Morrison is cuttered under Morrison and if the author's last name is Gates, a lower case g would be added after the cutter number (e.g., M882g). Some previously cataloged biography and criticism works used a work mark that included a Z or Y, but this was discontinued in the summer of 2019.
- Test books (e.g., FTCE, GRE, TEAS, LSAT) are cuttered by the name of the test.
- Books in a Series written by different authors : cutter under series title.
- e.g.Pete the Cat books -cutter under “Pete”
- Alumni publications are usually shelved in circulating collections
- Add subject heading Bethune-Cookman University - Alumni - Publications to the LBD section of the MARC record
- Use this heading for both books written by alumni and for books about alumni, such as books on Harriet and Harry T. Moore.
- Books are usually placed in the collection they normally would be placed if they were not about/by an alumni (black, main, special collections, etc.)
- Add publication to the libguide Books by Alumni.
- Volume and copy numbers - We don't add copy number to the call number spine label, but we do add volume numbers. (See Add holdings for multi-part monographs section in the cataloging part of this manual).
- Repairs are handled by the Technical Services Staff. Change temporary location to “REPAIR” while book is waiting to be repaired and place on designated cart or shelf for repairs.
Archives Collection
- This collection contains books and other resources about the administration and management of archives-this collection does not include archival materials themselves. Also includes copies of reference copies of books about Dr. Bethune and the University.
- Ask Archives staff before assigning items to this collection since they have a small area of space to house these books -otherwise assign to main, black or reference, etc. following usual practice.
- use the prefix ARCH and call numbers follow regular call number policies. Process as usual.
Black Collection
- Books in the Black Collection are circulating titles by and about African-Americans. However, juvenile books, graphic novels, oversize books, reference books and special collection titles by and about African Americans are placed in the collection they would be placed in if there was not an African American aspect to the book.
- Some high interest "juvenile" books may be added to the black collection, upon recommendations by one of the librarians. Also, modern foreign language books on African languages are shelved in the main or reference collection along with other languages. Also, as the budget permits, circulating books on President Barack Obama are placed in both the black collection and the main collection. Graphic novels by or about African Americans are placed in the Graphic Novel collection.
- Use the prefix B. (Occasionally, an older book may be found with a N prefix on the spine label and/or in the call number in the catalog- these books need the prefix to be changed to the B prefix. N was used when the collection was called the Negro Collection.)
Bound Periodicals
- This collection contains bound (and a few unbound older periodicals and also some older serials (yearbooks, annuals, directories, etc). Shelved in Technical Processing area near record albums.
- Use the prefix BP and catalog each volume as usual. Process as reference.
DVD Movie Collection
- This collection include movies and some documentary works, as well as a few children's DVDS .
- Use prefix DVD and add first three letters of the title as the call number.
- A special security strip is added to DVDs and care must be taken when sensitizing the item.
Graphic Novel Collection
- This collection includes graphic novels, manga,,anime and similar type of works. Some books on how to draw cartoons and how write graphic novels and similar works are also included in the collection.
- Use the prefix Graphic Novel.
- Include juvenile graphic novels, as well as graphic novels by and about African Americans.
Juvenile Collection
- Some high interest "Juvenile" books may be added to main or black
- Use the J prefix
- Add reading level and age group in a note. Also add any awards (Caldecott, Newbery, etc) to notes.
- Oversized “Big books”
- add the phrase BIG BOOK to the end of the call number after the publication date. They are shelved in a special bookcase in the Juvenile Stacks area.
- Be sure the subject heading “Big books” in the 655 field.
- Mindset books- In 2018, a faculty member requested that a list of selected books on “mindset” be cataloged together, for ease in locating them. While cataloging rules would not allow the books to be classed together, the note “Juvenile Growth Mindset” was added to the LBD field 599 note for each book.. From time to time, this note is added to other books that the cataloger believes would be considered a “mindset” book, but this has not been a consistent practice.
- TKR Adventure Reading Program
- Books donated by TKR Adventure Reading Program around 2010 - a note was added in the 590s field "Donated by the Trudie Kibbe Reed Adventure Reading Program."
- Books have a gold star label above call number- this was added to allow users to identify TKR donations when browsing the shelves.
LP Records
- Record albums donated by the Music Dept- awaiting word if faculty want to retain them and have them cataloged.
Main Collection
- This collection contains books that do not belong in any other circulation collection.
- There is no prefix.
- Before 2008, books in this collection had the prefix M. Any book with this prefix should be corrected.
Media Collection
- This collection is sometimes called "Academic Media" and contains mostly nonfiction DVDS. However, some popular documentaries are placed in the DVD Movies collection.
- Add Dewey number, cutter number and date to call number.
- Prefix used is Media.
- A special security strip is added to DVDs and care must be taken when sensitizing the item.
New Books Collection
- A selection of newly arrived circulating books (except juvenile books) are placed in the New Books collection.
- The item retains its permanent shelving location but from the Circulation or Metadata module, select New Books as the temporary location
- New books have a New Book sticker added above the spine label.
- Periodically, older books are removed from this collection to make room for new arrivals. -sticker is removed from the spine and the temporary location is deleted before book is shelved in its permanent collection.
- After removing the sticker, there’s usually a sticky residue. Use Goo-Gone and a soft cloth to try and remove stickiness. Wait awhile and go back over the surface with a paper towel to remove excess Goo-Gone from the book’s surface.
Oversize Collection
- Oversized books are shelved near the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) office on the 2nd floor.
- Oversize books are those for which the height is 28 cm or more and/or the width is 20 cm or more.
- Exceptions can be made for Art, Geography or any other book, if the librarians recommend the books be shelved in Main, Black , Reference or other collections, so more users will encounter the book while browsing.
- Prefix used is OS.
Reference and Ready Reference Collection
- Use Ref as the prefix for both Ready Ref and Ref - Ready Ref has clear yellow label placed over spine label). A few older reference books such as a few older encyclopedias are shelved outside Acquisitions office, for the time being. Ref volumes of the Florida Statutes are shelved near the scores.
- The acquisitions librarian usually queries the reference librarians as to which titles will be added to Ready Reference.
Reserve Collection
- Reserve items are usually cataloged and processed by Access Services, but Technical Services helps with cataloging and processing when needed.
- Call number include the course prefix and course number as the call number. Shelved behind circulation desk
- In addition to a catalog record, the item also needs to be entered into the WMS Course Reserve Module.
Scores Collection
- This collection contains printed scores and is located on the second floor.
- Catalog by Dewey.
- Prefix is SCORE
Special Collections
The Special Collection Room contains a mixture of type of books:
- This collection includes books of interest to African American studies, the South and other topics of interest that due to condition and or the likehood of theft are placed in a secure setting.. Autograph copies of books are often placed here as well.
- Prefix used is SPEC and books are cataloged and processed as reference books in other collections. (Several rare volumes are uncataloged and are found stored in either the Dean’s office or shelved in the Acquisition Librarian’s office.
TS Collection
- Books in this collection are extra copies from the Black collection (TS for Technical Services -shelved near kitchen/Mr. Ross' office.)
- Prefix used is TS.
