Before searching the databases, let's take a tour of the library's landing page. The buttons below provide information about the more commonly used buttons - Ask A Librarian, Research Guides, Search Databases, Course Reserves, Online College, Research Tutorials, Journals, Interlibrary Loans, B-CU Archives, Citation Resources, Remote Access, and Request Instruction. However, the following provides additional information about some of the lesser-known buttons and their purpose:
Are you having difficulty locating a book? Are you having problems accessing the on-line databases? Do you need to reset your password? Do you have a reference question? Worry no more; a Reference Librarian is here to help.
Please forward all questions to askalibrarian@cookman.edu
If you are a student, faculty, or staff member of Bethune-Cookman University, please send e-mail from your BCU e-mail account, to ensure proper delivery of correspondence.
Research Guides are, to put it plainly, electronic handouts. Here you will find 'handouts' on more than 70 topics, courses, and databases. For example, the Citations guide is one of our most popular and can also be reached by clicking on the Citation Resources tab. There you can find assistance with formatting your research papers. There are also guides for Biology, Criminal Justice and Education, as well as guides with links to Crime Statistics, Handmade Crafts, Faculty Teaching Online, and Finding Your Roots. Curious? Click HERE to explore.
Search Databases is the button you would click to locate academic journals and refereed articles. There are over one hundred databases and Open Education Resources for students, faculty and staff to use for research and personal interests. A few of the most commonly used databases are:
ERIC Education Research Center
REMOTE (OFF CAMPUS) ACCESS TO LIBRARY DATABASES
1. Go to the B-CU main page (www.cookman.edu).
2. Scroll down and click Carl Swisher Library and Learning Resource Center.
3. On the Library home page click the “Remote Access” button.
4. Click on the sign in box on the top right hand corner. You will see a sign in page with directions on the right side of the page.
5. You will need to add COOKMAN\before your username. If your email is jane.d.doe@students.cookman.edu, your username will be
COOKMAN\jane.d.doe
New students: Your password will be your domain computer (network) password. You can find this password in your B-CU email or in WildCatWeb.
If you are unable to find your password, please try 00 followed by your student ID. If your student ID is 123456, your password will be: 00123456 or 123456
Returning students: Your password will be 00 followed by your student ID. If your ID is 123456, your password will be 00123456 or if that does not work: 123456
Contact Betty Story storyb@cookman.edu for any problems.
This link will take you to the page below where you can schedule classes for bibliographic, research or database instruction.
The BOX under "Search Everything" is where you enter your keywords to search Carl S. Swisher's Catalog. This is a great place to start a search. You can select books, articles or videos to limit your search.
This link will take you to the page below where you can search or browse journal titles. If you are not sure of the journal's complete title, you may search using the words or terms associated with your discipline. For example, if you are seeking journals about "secondary education" or "technology", you can use those search terms to locate journals that contain those terms in their titles. You can also search and browse articles, eBooks, eBook Citations.
What is an Interlibrary Loan?
An interlibrary loan is a transaction through which library materials are made available by one library to another for the use of an individual for research or serious study.
Who May Use It?
Faculty, undergraduates, and staff may request needed material through Interlibrary Loan.
Click here to complete and send an Online Interlibrary Loan Request Form
For questions concerning Interlibrary Loan at B-CU, please contact
Dr. Angelo Salvo
(386) 481-2189
salvoa@cookman.edu
askalibrarian@cookman.edu
The DVD Collection includes a list of the DVDs that the library possesses. Links within the guide include: