LibGuides: Education: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the Education Research Guide.

We will be continually adding more sources to the guide. Let us know of other sources that may be useful by emailing moreyh@cookman.edu

APA citation guide

Citations (B-CU Library LibGuide)

Why Use Library Databases?

What is Peer-Review?

Open Access Ebooks

National Academics Press
The National Academies Press (NAP) publishs the reports of the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research... Read and download more than 5,000 reports and other publications for free. Currently has more than 400 titles in Education.

While publications can be purchased, look for the blue button "download free pdf" or the gray button "Read online" to read a document for free.
Adult ESL Resource Database
The Adult ESL Resource Database provides annotated references (with links to the full text whenever possible) for documents useful to practitioners working with adult English language learners. Selected resources in the database have been externally reviewed and approved for inclusion in the LINCS English Language Acquisition Resource Collection, funded by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Adult & Vocational Education (OVAE).

Best Bets - Education -Journal Articles

Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete is a definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Education Week
Weekly journal containing all aspects of education, particularly K-12.
ERIC Education Research Center
ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
Gale Power Search
Gale Resources Search Engine: A collection of authoritative periodicals, scholarly journals, newspapers, and reference content.

Other Databases and other Digital Resources

Communications & Mass Media (Gale OneFile)
Indexes articles from communications publications, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the range of the communication discipline.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Chronicle of Higher Education
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Indexes articles from communications publications, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the range of the communication discipline.
Credo Reference
Ready reference electronic books covering every major subject. This online reference collection features full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. This resource also includes Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary
Dissertations & Theses
Useful for all subject areas. A comprehensive database collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Ebsco eBooks Collection
An expanding subscription package that contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection.
Gale ebooks (GVRL)
Full-text Reference E-books on a variety of subjects. Subjects covered include arts and humanities, biography and genealogy, business and industries, general and consumer interests, government and political science, health and medicine, law, science and technology, and social sciences. This resource also includes Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
Google Scholar
JSTOR
Provides full text and images of back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, anthropology, sociology, education, literature, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences, afrom the 1800s to 3-5 years ago. JSTOR also offers Open Source ebooks by University of California Press, Yale University Press, Cornell University Press, and nine other academic publishers.
Nexis-Uni
Contains news, laws and cases on education and many other topics.
Security message may appear for on campus access. Click on the Advanced button to access the site.
ProQuest ebook Central
ProQuest ebooks feature a range of subjects and also feature a public health and public administration collection. Books can be read online or fully downloaded for one day.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX™ is a comprehensive sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provides users with a wealth of extremely useful information, encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
SpringerLink journals & ebooks
B-CU has access to more than 45,000 full-text ebooks (and many journals) in this database. (

Off-Campus Access to Library Resources

Remote (Off-Campus) Access Instructions To Library Databases

Email askalibrarian@cookman.edu for reference help and questions. We will contact you as soon as possible.

You may also call the library at 386-481-2186. Please leave a message if no one is able to pick up- we are constantly checking messages for this number.

Statistical Databases

For statistics databases see the Statistics page in this guide.

Databases for K-12 Students

Elementary: Gale In Context
Gale In Context: Elementary, formerly Kids InfoBits, lets elementary school children (through grade 5) gain comfort with research by delivering age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of subjects taught in the classroom
Middle School
This middle school database provides engaging reference, periodical, and multimedia content supporting national and state curriculum standards for grades 6 to 12 in language arts, social studies, and science.

Related Research Guides

Literature Review

Education: Home

Welcome

APA citation guide

Why Use Library Databases?

What is Peer-Review?

Open Access Ebooks

Best Bets - Education -Journal Articles

Other Databases and other Digital Resources

Off-Campus Access to Library Resources

Remote (Off-Campus) Access Instructions To Library Databases

Statistical Databases

For statistics databases see the Statistics page in this guide.

Databases for K-12 Students

Related Research Guides