Assistant Professor of Chemistry
NOAA CCME-II Education Liaison, Academic Advisor for Chemistry Majors
Office Location: John O. Gross Science Hall/College of Science, Engineering and Mathematics, Room 125
Office Phone: 386-481-2383
Email: vernierb@cookman.edu
Social media: Linkedin
Degrees
I am an Assistant Professor of Chemistry at Bethune-Cookman University. I currently serve as an academic advisor to chemistry majors. I am the education liaison at Bethune-Cookman University for the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Center for Coastal and Marine Ecosystems. Additionally, I work with the US Fish and Wildlife Service to engage undergraduate scholars in research and data science. I also work with Duquesne University to develop chemical pedagogy in undergraduate research.
In my current capacity as an Assistant Professor of Chemistry at Bethune-Cookman University, my primary focus lies in involving undergraduate students in the realm of research. My present research initiatives encompass the following areas:
Exploration of Potential JAK3 Inhibitors for Alopecia Areata Minimization and Side Effect Reduction:
Within this project, I employ molecular docking and molecular dynamics techniques to unearth novel JAK3 inhibitors designed to minimize adverse side effects for individuals affected by Alopecia areata. This endeavor involves the mentorship of undergraduate students in computational and synthetic organic chemistry in collaboration with Dr. Sydney Bolden, a fellow researcher at Bethune-Cookman University.
Investigation into the Aggregation Phenomenon of Room-Temperature Ionic Liquids in Conductivity:
In this research, I utilize molecular dynamics simulations to comprehensively understand room-temperature ionic liquids and scrutinize their structural characteristics through radial and angular distribution functions, along with predicted structure factors.
Integration of Theory, Computational Methods, and Experimental Chemistry in Undergraduate Research and Curriculum Development:
This study delves into the amalgamation of theoretical, computational, and experimental chemistry within undergraduate research. It includes implementing the scientific method, fostering collaboration between research groups spanning various disciplines, and facilitating undergraduate workshops aimed at instilling crucial aspects of research methodology. Notably, this initiative partners with multiple universities and receives funding from the NSF.
In the future, my aspirations center on advancing my research endeavors concerning room-temperature ionic liquids, particularly enhancing current electrolyte solutions for lithium-ion battery technology.
Additionally, I am devoted to actively involving graduate and undergraduate students in the research process. I aim to develop practical educational methods that engage and empower students in their scholarly pursuits.
Dentley, K., Tamez, A., Makowski, J., Evanseck, J. D., & Vernier, B. T. (2022). Synergy and binding energy between nectin-1 and hsv-2 glycoprotein d. In 2022 Duquesne University Undergraduate Research Regional Symposium, Pittsburgh, PA.
Ahmed, A. N., Vernier, B. T., Rhode, J., Jeffrey, & Evanseck, D., Jeffrey. (2017). Nontraditional catalytic elements for Trost semicrown aldol reaction cycle. In 2017 Duquesne University Undergraduate Research Regional Symposium, Pittsburgh, PA.
Cosme-Silva, J.-L., Evanseck, J. D., Rohde, J., Vernier, B. T., Novak, M., & Kanzelberger, M. (2017). Five phases for integrating the scientific method and communication skills with research experiences. In Abstracts of papers, 253rd ACS National Meeting & Exposition, San Francisco, CA.
Mihailescu, P., Osborne, B., Vernier, B. T., Rohde, J. J., & Evanseck, J. D. (2017). Fortuitous boron-fluorine and formyl hydrogen eclipsing orientations in BF3 crystal structures of Lewis acid aldehyde complexes. In 2017 Duquesne university undergraduate research regional symposium, Pittsburgh, PA.
Osborne, B., Vernier, B. T., Mihailescu, P., Rupprecht, A., Rohde, J., Jeffrey, & Evanseck, D., Jeffrey. (2017). Crystal packing forces in the formation of nontraditional hydrogen bonding. In 2017 Duquesne University Undergraduate Research Regional Symposium, Pittsburgh, PA.
Vernier, B. T., Srnec, M. N., Carlson, A., Buckholtz, G. A., Gawalt, E. S., & Evanseck, J. D. (2017). Five phases for integrating the scientific method and communication skills with research experiences. In Abstracts of papers, 253rd ACS National Meeting &Exposition, San Francisco, CA.
Ahmed, A., Vernier, B. T., Evanseck, J., & Rohde, J. (2016). Insight into asymmetric catalysis of aqueous asymmetric Mukaiyama aldol reactions by dinuclear zinc semi-crown ligand. In Abstracts of papers, 251st ACS National Meeting & Exposition, San Diego, CA.
Cosme, J., Vernier, B. T., Rohde, J. J., & Evanseck, J. D. (2016a). Evidence for formyl and α-hydrogen bonding in asymmetric organic reactions from single crystal X-ray diffraction and density functional theory. In 2016 Duquesne University Undergraduate Research Regional Symposium, Pittsburgh, PA.
Cosme, J., Vernier, B. T., Rohde, J. J., & Evanseck, J. D. (2016b). Novel binding and shuttling catalytic cycle of the aldol reaction by Trost dinuclear zinc semi-crown ligands. In 2016 Duquesne University Undergraduate Research Regional Symposium, Pittsburgh, PA.
Ahmed, A. N., Vernier, B. T., Kelly, A., Rohde, J., & Evanseck, J. D. (2015). Group 13 chiral Lewis acid stereoselective control of enal diels-alder reactions. In Abstracts of papers, 249th ACS National Meeting & Exposition, Denver, CO.
Kelly, A., Vernier, B. T., Ahmed, A. N., Rohde, J., & Evanseck, J. D. (2015). Solvation effects in bimolecular Diels Alder cycloaddition of cyclopentadiene: A tool for benchmarking expected errors in more sophisticated diels alder reactions. In Abstracts of papers, 249th ACS National Meeting & Exposition, Denver, CO.
Vernier, B. T., Ahmed, A. N., Rohde, J., & Evanseck, J. D. (2015). Alpha-hydrogen bonding stereochemical consequences in alpha, beta-unsaturated aldehydes complexed with chiral menthoxyaluminum dichloride lewis acid catalysts in diels-alder reactions. In Abstracts of papers, 249th ACS National Meeting & Exposition, Denver, CO.
Ahmed, A., Kelly, A., Vernier, B. T., Rohde, J. J., & Evanseck, J. D. (2014a). Influence of competitive, attractive, ground state, complex interactions on the stereochemical outcome of Diels-Alder reactions of enals catalyzed by group 13 chiral Lewis acids. In Abstracts, 45th Central Regional Meeting of the American Chemical Society, Pittsburgh, PA.
Ahmed, A., Kelly, A., Vernier, B. T., Rohde, J. J., & Evanseck, J. D. (2014b). Solvation effects in bimolecular Diels-Alder cycloaddition of cyclopentadiene: A tool for benchmarking expected errors in more sophisticated Diels-Alder reactions. In Abstracts, 45th Central Regional Meeting of the American Chemical Society, Pittsburgh, PA.
Vernier, B. T., Ahmed, A. N., Kelly, A., Rohde, J. J., & Evanseck, J. D. (2014). Transition state stabilization of substituted enals in Diels-Alder reactions by group 13 chiral Lewis acids. In Abstracts, 45th Central Regional Meeting of the American Chemical Society, Pittsburgh, PA
Vernier, B. T., & Evanseck, J. D. (In Preparation). Integration of theory and computation with experimental chemistry in an undergraduate summer research program. Journal of Chemical Education.
Montgomery, T. D., Vernier, B. T., Buchbinder, J. R., Gawalt, E. S., Iuliucci, R. J., Koch, A. S., . . .Evanseck, J. D. (2022). The scientific method as a scaffold to enhance communication skills in chemistry. Journal of Chemical Education, 99, 2338–2350.
1. Bolden, S.; Vernier B. T., Wu, X. AI-Driven Drug Discovery: Unraveling Deep Insights for Novel JAK3, ADAPT-EI TITLE III